We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great hotel! Nice location! Unfortunately the breakfast was not edible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for providing information on your recent stay.

As our complimentary continental breakfast generally receives very favorable comments, I would be interested in knowing more about what you did not enjoy. If you have the time and inclination, I would appreciate more detailed feedback ( bbest@valenciagroup.com).

Thank you.

Bonnie Best
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    258
    97
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
199
32
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We love this Hotel!
Hotel Valencia in Santana Row is perfectly situated and offers the right mix of comfort and availability of restaurants within walking distance. It is reasonably quiet, depending on the room location. We have over the years stayed in the inner courtyard room with the comfortable balcony that allows you to have the experience of enjoying the atmosphere of the outdoors, while enjoying your own privacy..
We had called and reserved a balcony -courtyard room that ended up not being available! We were slighted and unhappy!
After complaining, and with reluctance they upgraded us to a junior suite in room 546 on the 5th floor that overlooked the Maggiannos Park that was buzzing with life, music, and restaurants... They did this but when looking outside at all the back alley facing balcony rooms, it was clear they put everyone else in rooms in the inner courtyard because the other rooms and hotel seemed empty. So they could have met our original reservation by moving someone else to the back alley.
We did enjoy ourselves but frankly, if you can afford the extra 100$ per night you should stay at the Garden Court Hotel in Palo Alto. It is pricey but a completely different class of hotel, guarantee and service.

Room Tip: You cannot choose your room of choice. That is our issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2truv3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValencia, Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Luv2truv3I, we do guarantee our room types in either a deluxe room which include a balcony or a traditional room without a balcony. Certain features of a room like the location and the view offered are requests that we do our very best to honor and based on the availability of the request. There are only 9 King Deluxe Balcony rooms in our courtyard out of our 212 rooms. I am pleased that you were upgraded to a Junior Suite overlooking the park area in Santana Row which is one of our most requested rooms. I will be pleased to assist you personally with any concerns or special requests for future visits to Hotel Valencia Santana Row.

Sincerely,

Brent Gaines,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I had the opportunity to travel on business for 5 nights at the end of Feb and stayed at the Hotel Valencia.

In fairness, this was a business trip, so my needs in a hotel are much different than when traveling with my wife or family. I want something centrally located, decent sized room with amenities, nice spot for breakfast and perhaps a bar to catch a drink at the end of the day. So for my needs, the Valencia certainly hit the spot.

My room was large with a king, beautiful bed and covers with a small balcony overlooking a small courtyard below. Some rooms overlook an internal courtyard, others the parking area - ask when checking in. The rest of the room was great, although it could have used a more visible clock (esp for us east-coasters adjusting to the time difference and prone to waking very early in the morning).

We had the opportunity to take advantage of the hot tub outside on the 5th floor which was great. Pool seemed nice too, but it was a bit too cool for us to use.

The morning breakfast (included in your rate) was excellent! Not your average continental breakfast either with a daily egg selection, meats, potatoes, cereals, pastries, different juices, etc. It was a great start to the day.

The hotel is ideally located within Santana Row - so tons of restaurants around and pricey shops to peruse with any spare time. The hotel desk will also provide a jogging route in the area if you're so inclined or there is a fitness centre on the 5th floor.

The bar was a bit tight on space when we were there, but that might have been more as the result of the temperature as the outside space was not used due to the cooler temperatures. I understand this is a bit of a hotspot from Thurs - Sat - we saw it one night as people lined up to access the hotel, but it was of no bother to us in any way. (we did hear parking is tough on weekends - solved w valet)

All in all a great hotel that was close to Silicon Valley and within range of a visit to San Francisco as well.

PS Philly Flyers stayed in the hotel for a few nights while we were there - not sure if other sports teams call this home when on the road, but seemed a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

After staying for one night at Hotel Valencia, I was planning on giving it 5 stars. Clean, well decorated, very hip hotel. Great location- loved santana row with great shopping and nice restaurants. Pool was very nice. Breakfast was excellent. I realized later that day I had forgotten my telephone charger in the room. I called and they said they would look into it and call me back. They called me back a few hours later and said they found it. In the meantime, I realized I left my earrings on the night table as well. I asked them to see if they found any earrings. I waited until I returned home to see if my earrings were mailed back with my charger. I wasn't too surprised when they weren't in the package, but more disappointed she never bothered to call me back. I called again and asked them to look into it. The employee again took my number and said she would call me back. I received no phone call. I waited a few more days, and called back and this time, I said I would stay on hold, while she called down to housekeeping. She came back 20 minutes later and said they never found them. I asked her to confront the person who cleaned my room, because I am 100 percent positive I left them on the night table and I wanted a phone call back. I never received any call back. It was my fault I left them there so I'm not so mad about not getting my favorite earrings back, but I am so disappointed how the handled the situated. I believe I spoke to Colleen 2 out of the 3 times I called.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ike2012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelValencia, Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
ike1201, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am concerned you are unhappy regarding interactions and service with our staff with regards to some lost and found items. I have located some internal records with contact information that match the comments written here. I will contact you directly.

Sincerely,

Brent Gaines,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORANGE COUNTY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

When in San Jose this is always my hotel of choice. The Valencia is chic with its great decor through and through. The lounge/bar has great drinks and draws quite the crowd. I'll definitely be back. I've stayed at 2 (San Jose and San Antonio) or the 3 Valencia Hotels, and both offer the boutique feel that I absolutely adore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCPELAYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.4 km away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,174 reviews
13.1 km away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,289 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
10.6 km away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
5.2 km away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price range (per night): $282 - $591
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing