We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura San Bruno
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were looking for a place to sleep that was #1 Safe, #2 Clean & #3 Quiet. We hit the jackpot with this place...... and the price was very attractive. We were in town for 4 days to visit San Francisco and it was convenient since we had rented a car. Oh yes, the parking was inside and there were plenty of spaces. It was a 15 minute drive to get into San Francisco.

The rooms had Frig, Microwave and coffee maker. They were clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Staff was pleasant. I will stay there on future trips and I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the back side to avoid potential road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    276
    123
    35
    21
See reviews for
233
199
57
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is my second time for a 3-day business/pleasure stay at this Howard Johnson at San Bruno. The place is clean, nicely upgraded, the staff is great and it provides excellent breakfast. It is very close to the airport and many nice restaurants. It served all my needs and I plan to comeback many more times.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5yohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We picked this location because it was close to the airport and offered free shuttle service. We arrived on the shuttle but went back to the airport to pick up a rental car. Transportation was prompt and quickly arranged.
Although it is a little far from San Francisco (14 miles), we used this as a base for exploring the city since it was an attractive price alternative to staying downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean-housekeeping did a great job. The limited continental breakfast was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O-townflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The rooms are surprisingly large. Everything was clean and comfortable. Beds are firm. Breakfast was good....lots of choices, fruit, waffles, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cereal etc. The location is perfect for an early morning departure or late night arrival from San Fran airport. Staff was incredibly good natured and helpful. I saw a few high maintenance and old codgers put them to the test too. I would stay here again....no questions.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner unit. Our room was enormous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonWGrandJunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The staff is always friendly and helpful and the hotel rooms modern and attractive, very large, and clean. They have all the amenities, very comfortable beds. Excellent shuttle service to and from airport. Close by good shopping. The rates are very reasonable for the quality of the hotel. Continental breakfast is included. The hotel has not been busy when we have stayed and consequently has been very quiet for sleeping well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guayaba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Bruno
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.6 km away
Super 8 San Bruno /SF Intl Arpt West
1.1 km away
Millwood Inn & Suites
Millwood Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Millbrae
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.2 km away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
0.8 km away
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura San Bruno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura San Bruno

Property: Hotel Aura San Bruno
Address: 190 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-5552 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price range (per night): $176 - $323
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aura San Bruno 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aura in San Bruno, California is situated in an ideal location next to San Francisco Airport (SFO) for your next visit to the San Francisco Bay Area. When you stay at this affordable, yet luxurious hotel, you'll experience plush bedding, a wide range of amenities, and a variety of services such as free on-site parking for your vehicle. If you don't have a car, you can catch your flight out of SFO with our free airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aura San Bruno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing