We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best tour in Napa”

Pride Mountain Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 114 things to do in St. Helena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Pride Mountain Vineyards specializes in Red Wine production, mainly Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. The property is only open for wine tasting appointments to adult guests with a prior appointments. In compliance of our local codes and use-permits all appointments must be made in advance of arrival. Thank you, Pride Mountain Vineyards
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best tour in Napa”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was worried about the "long and windy road" up there but it was not bad and definitely worth it. The mountaintop is breathtaking and a highlight of any trip to Napa Valley. Call and make a reservation and enjoy the wonderful tour and tastings by the enthusiastic folks there. They love their wine, they are proud of it, and most of all they want you to enjoy and appreciate the process of making great wine and the PRODUCT that they turn out. It is amazing wine. You'll be glad you visited!

Helpful?
1 Thank ComeFlyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    34
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband and I made a reservation for a tasting at Pride Mountain because of the high ratings given by tripadvisor reviewers. The winery, the caves and the location are all just beautiful. We were so surprised that just the "tasting only" came with a wonderful tour of the caves, a barrel tasting and an education on the terroir of their different vineyards. We enjoyed the staff and the wines so much that we plan to go back and sign up for the full tour and tasting on our next visit!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Without question this is one of the better wineries to visit. No crowds - by invitation only and is on Spring Mountain outside St Helena so has gorgeous views. Very relaxed but thorough tour and the tasting is on your way from barrel to barrel through the wine cellars dug into the mountain. Good variety of wines to taste and buy all grown on the mountain on their lands. If you buy some wine the tasting fee of $10 is waived.

Every time I go to Napa in the future I will always make sure to go to Pride!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank manofbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful wine, location and tour”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

On our trip to Napa Valley for my birthday, my wife and I heard about Pride Mountain Winery from a fellow hotel guest. We decided to venture up Spring Mountain to check it out. Our visit to Pride Mountain Vineyard turned out to be our favorite winery visit during our 4 day stay in Napa Valley. The setting is fantastic as you ascend the steep mountain road through a beautiful forest. The trip itself is an adventure. The winery is absolutely beautiful sitting on top of a mountain surrounded by other mountain peaks. We met Jay Herbert for our tour and tasting and were overwhelmed by his infectious attitude and love for the winery and his job. The tour/tasting in the wine caves was an education and a nice touch. The Cab and Syrah wines are exquisite and we purchased the wine at the end of our tour. Do yourself a big favor and visit this winery. The people there love what they do and it shows in their wine as well as the smile on their faces.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Buxnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This winery is more than worth the trip up the mountain road. The setting is lovely (you will pass Schweinger Winery as well). Although we didn't have an appointment, the owner was able to fit us into the 3:30 tour. The group had about 8 people total. Our guide told us a little about the history of the winery and it's ownership. We sampled a couple wines - and then it was off to the caves to tour and sample the rest. The cave is very pretty with candlelighting along the path (as well as overhead lighting) The guide was informative and friendly. We enjoyed this tour so much more than the big winery tours. The wine is wonderful and well-named (although Pride is actually the name of the family owning the winery) There are so many wineries in the area - Don't miss this one!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mringenoldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pride Mountain Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Pride Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing