We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
92
164
49
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
164
49
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastpoolside roomnapa valleygarden roomhot tub and saunarecommend elwine countryone night staynice poolwine glassesmini fridgeroom was spacious and cleantwo storyclose to townrooms are smalldefinitely stay here againdowntown st
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

There are so many reasons why El Bonita is a good little solid motel. First of all, it has recently been redone and all the rooms are very clean, bright and feel good. The showers have lovely tile work on the floors and huge shower heads. The bathroom (while very tiny) floors are HEATED! You don't find that in any motels. The TV offers dozens and dozens of Cable shows. Also something you don't find in a motel. To top that off there is both a pool and jacuzzi open to 11:00 PM. Each room has a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. And they provide a breakfast roll (prepackaged) in AM. Our only issue was the mattress - just so uncomfortable. I do hope they will upgrade those too. The French owner is extremely happy to please and pleasant. I would go to El Bonita again and I highly recommend - especially for only $79 night!!!

Room Tip: Most rooms are near Hwy 29 the main drag in Napa - but don't despair, by the time you go to bed at night the traffic is almost non-existent and the rooms are extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised, given the (relatively) low price! Comofortable, clean rooms, great location. And - the free wireless internet was extremely fast (12 MB / 6 MB)! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Three things matter to me when I'm looking for a place to stay on my Napa trips: Location, price,
and comfort. Location because at the end of a day of tasting wine, you don't want to be driving very far to your hotel. Price because Napa Valley is a world class destination now, and it can get very pricey! Comfort because nothing is worse than shelling out a lot of bucks, only to find your room is not even close to worth it.

El Bonita is located in the very heart of the valley, on the south edge of St. Helena, on Hwy 29.
You can actually walk to several famous wineries and restaurants. Score 5 stars for location!
During the "season", the price is not so good, but from fall to spring you can score $90 rates!
This is the best time, as tourist traffic is down, but weather is still great, on average.
The rooms have been refurbished, and are quite nice, though small. (For larger rooms, one can stay in the back area, but these cost more.) The deal is on the poolside, front rooms. Beds are only Queen size, but comfortable. Bathrooms are small, but nice.....and the tile floors are warmed somehow!

The office, which is just a few steps away, offers coffee and continental breakfast. Pets are also allowed, though there is a fee. If you come to Napa for wine tasting and learning, this is the ideal place. If you want more of an experience of a lifetime, with lodging on a world class scale, and don't mind paying far more, then try Yountville!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longhornwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This motel is a reasonable value for the money. It is somewhat plain with older fixtures. It is more interesting than a chain motel and considering the price of other properties in the area it provides good accommodation. They are doing some remodeling but have left many details unfinished. We had a water leak in the toilet base because it had not been tightened. The manager arrived promptly and fixed it. He was a very pleasant Cuban and very interesting to talk to. I would recommend this to anyone seeking reasonable lodging on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

In a very expensive tourist hot spot, El Bonita Motel stands out for its history and price. The location of the motel is excellent as it is located on main street. However, as with most things you get what you pay for. While this hotel is an excellent value and has received good reviews, it is just that a value motel. Upon arriving I checked in with the not overly friendly, yet courteous staff. My room was ground level on the back side in the thirties. It was chilly in Napa Valley so I found my room a very chilly 54 degrees upon arrival. After boosting the heat several times I finally found a tolerable temp of 75 degrees by the second day. I was in a king room and worried upon seeing the bed I may need a step stool to get in it. The bed was so high from the ground was actually uncomfortable getting in and out. The bathroom was probably the worst part of the room. The jetted tub was heavy with chipped and peeling paint; not to mention the yellow stain line around most of the tub. Getting in and out of the tub/shower also proved to be difficult as there was about a foot and a half edge....good thing there was a grab bar! Also, the area is pretty safe, however I feel the need to mention there were also sliding glass doors that opened to a shared grassy area. There was a continetal breakfast offered, which was ok and included some prepackaged breads and muffins, Sunny D, coffee and fruit. While this hotel was generally clean, it offered nothing extra and the poor condition of the rooms would make me think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HedoHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews