We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel photos don't do the place justice. It is really very nice, with spacious rooms and an open and light-filled lobby which invites one to sit down with a cup of coffee. The staff was exceptionally pleasant. Breakfast was average and being gluten free, I didn't partake. At least the coffee was good and strong. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sari1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Dear Sari1112,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback and observations as we are always looking for ways to improve. We are getting ready to do another round of photos of our property and will try and do a better job capturing all the things you mentioned. Glad you liked the coffee, we recently switched to Seattle's Best, and we have been receiving very positive feedback.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Governors Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed only one night at the Governors Inn Hotel in Sacramento, CA. The hotel is located off the I-5 Freeway, however, is really not near downtown. A large railroad yard stands inbetween the hotel and downtown. I noticed that a Tram Station is being built as part of the link to the Airport. The hotel itself was VERY clean and VERY comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that they use sensor lighting and have natural products for the bathroom. The best touch was a laundry basket for the used towels. The hotel is located next to a MCD and across the street from a Dennys. Besides those two, I didn't notice any other place to eat. The only draw back is the location of the new Greyhound Station, just down the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjaysfan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Bjaysfan21, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you liked our efforts to make our hotel very energy efficient. Our staff works really hard to ensure our hotel is kept very clean and comfortable. The River District where are hotel is located is in a great location as the city and the businesses are investing heavily into the area. The Denny's you mentioned is brand new and just opened this week. The Sacramento Police Department's north division, CHP Headquarters and the California Lottery Offices are also located in the River District, along with a brand new light rail station. The city and state have recently completed a multi-million dollar street scape and freeway offramp/underpass improvement project. We could not be happier about all the exciting changes taking place. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

It is too bad this hotel is located in a less than desirable location. Saw some seedy characters in the vicinity, but certainly didn't feel endangered. It is clean, accommodating and reasonable. Free internet in lobby, complimentary continental breakfast & pleasant personnel. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear epruch, Thank you for staying with us. I mentioned to another TripAdvisor reviewer that the City is investing millions of dollars in the River District. The Blvd., freeway underpass and off-ramp have already undergone significant improvement to make it even easier for visitors to access the services along Richards Blvd. Also, our area is among the safest in Sacramento because we have both the Sacramento Police Department North Division and CHP headquarters are located along the Blvd. A new Denny's, Texas BBQ restaurant and other eateries are also nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We have stayed at Governors Inn on several occasions while visiting family in Sacramento. Can't find a better place, for the price or the cleanliness of this hotel, in our opinion, plus they have a good breakfast before heading out for the day. McDonalds is right next door too & a new Dennys Restaurant is "opening soon" across the street.. We will stay here many more times in the future.

Room Tip: We believe the 3rd floor is best and so quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 664Christine_B13664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear 664Christine_B13664, You said it all! Just a side note we are in the process of upgrading all of our TV to flat screens. Look forward to seeing you in the near future. If there is anything we can help you with on your next visit, please let us know. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here with my husband and daughter for 3 nights. An excellent value! Room was very large and spotless. Easy to get anywhere in Sacramento. I arrived by train from san Francisco and free shuttle arrived promptly. Guess my only minor minor complaint was driver was not super courteous-- did not open unfamiliar van door-- said get in etc. but could be I have been spoiled by southern hospitality. Breakfast has varied choices-- just wish there had been some fresh fruit-- but my daughter loved the FRESH doughnuts. Stay here instead of a large chain--- you'll have lots of space all that you need and save $$$.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Georgiapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, General Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Georgiapeach,
Thank you so much for staying with us. And yes we are very sorry that our driver did not open the van door for you. We certainly strive to deliver the very best in Southern, Eastern, Western and Northern hospitality. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast too. Typically we have fresh fruit on the continental buffet. Hope you had a great trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.5 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
0.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Sacramento - Riverfront Promenade
2.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
Hyatt Regency Sacramento
#4 of 81 in Sacramento
1,665 reviews
2.6 km away
Residence Inn Sacramento Downtown at Capitol Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Sacramento

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: $152 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing