We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't waste your money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cakebread Cellars

Cakebread Cellars
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This winery specializes in producing wine to go with particular types of food and sells most of its wines to restaurants throughout the world.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Being a fan of this wine I was excited to share this wine experience with my friends. We had a reservation for 4 people so expected they would control the number of people in their very small reserve tasting room. They put 14 to 16 people in this room which made it very crowded and hard for someone to try and service everyone. Twice we had ro ask to pour as they had forgotten us. The cost for $30 for the tasting...highly overpriced for the experience!
When we shared our experience with others they weren't at all surprised as they had heard it many times.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whereinthworldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    123
    51
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good 1st impression”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our 1st stop for us on day 1 of our 5 days in Napa & Sonoma. Love the wine selections and nice tour! I normally do not drink white wine but I enjoy their whites..very smooth and refreshing!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food pairing tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Cakebread is one of my favs. Great food pairing and winery tour. Been drinking this wine sincec1981

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank brigmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tucked away and worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Informative tour, nice property, good wines, friendly staff.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Make reservations for the Cakebread wine tour. Delicious wines and you also get a view of the beautiful grounds. Every winery wants you to sign up for their "wine club". And this is definitely the one we will join. Informative,friendly and great wine. What more could you want.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merry1traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cakebread Cellars also viewed

Rutherford, Napa Valley
 
Rutherford, Napa Valley
 

Been to Cakebread Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing