We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
4
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull hookupsregional parkmotor homego fishingminiature golf courseride bikesper nightpadsreunioncabinskunkshowerfreeway
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This is great for family or scout camping. Spacious fields for running and games. Nice lake and hiking trails. Unfortunately the nature center is closed and the nature trails are in need of trash pickup.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I am going to start this by saying we spent 7 days camping by the lake, we got to see the good and the bad of this park. I wish I could give another star but I have to give an overall score for the week.
We stayed in a campsite by the lake, this campground is all dirt and is very dusty. The grass was already dead and brown. The actual camp sites are dirt and gravel. It is a very short walk to the lake to go fishing however. The power, water and sewer at our site worked fine. We arrived on a Tuesday and although the campground was almost full it was quiet, the campground was pleasant until the weekend when it got noisy and lots of cars speeding up and down the dirt roads and blaring music. We had a large group of cars from the day use area on Sunday that roared into camp and parked in a camp site with about 20-30 people running around, I was very uncomfortable, A ranger finally told them to go back to the day use area so they moved most of the cars, the ranger left and was not seen again the rest of the day even though they brought the cars back in 15 minutes doing donuts in the dirt and blasting music. This was not a holiday weekend and there was not any control of the rowdy people. This was not the only out of control group that showed up. This is a scary place on the weekends. The rangers spend all day at the store and water park area.
The park has another camp ground that has paved roads and the sites are all paved and have green grass between the concrete parking pads. The restroom area was a lot bigger and nicer looking also. This camp ground is further from the lake so was quieter. If I was to stay here again I would go for the upper campground and walk further to the lake. The showers in the lower campground are primitive, a bench on one wall and the showers on the other side without anywhere to put any soap or towel, you must go to the store to buy tokens to make the showers work in either location.
The park has a very active day use area with a nice water park, miniature golf course and a Frisbee course, these areas were always crowded during the day. You need to come early and put up a pop-up to claim a spot to sit in this area. The store has the very essentials if you forgot to pack something or ran out of something. There is a supermarket about 2 miles from the park for other items. The park has two lakes that are stocked with fish. I fished almost every day and only caught a bunch of 3 to 6” fish. I saw two anglers catch some keeper fish all week even though they stocked on the Friday before we arrived. The little kids really liked catching the 3” Bluegill’s. There is a huge grass park area at the very back of the park that I did not see anyone use at all when we were there.
For a park with camping in the middle of a city this is a great surprise but I would only go back during the week or in the winter time. This park need some serious rangers on duty on the weekends in the summer as they did not/could not control the rowdy weekend gangs that show up and terrorize the place.
Be aware if you are camping that in the evening skunks come out and roam the camp ground then after dark larger critters come out. For the most part, they are searching for food and did not bother us but than we sat still when they came under the table we were sitting at and around snooped around our camp. So be advised, you are camping in the wild at night.
I was really hoping to give this park a nice high rating, and it started out deserving a good rating. By the weekend the park did not live up to our hopes and we actually ended up leaving a day early by the end of the week stay.
The park has 6 small cabins you can rent but most of the park is for camping in tents or RV's.

Room Tip: Only say during the week, no weekends. Stay in the upper campground in your RV.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 707clayg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Just wanted to take the time to tell you about the fantastic time we had at the Rancho Jurupa Park Campgrounds-Cottonwood area in Riverside, California! We spent three nights there with extended families for the reunion. Great camping sites! We had full hookups. The price was very reasonable and allowed dogs to camp with us too with a $2 per dog per night cost. Very worth it. The campgrounds was clean, had grassy areas around us, a water splashing pads for the younger campers, a fishing lake, clean bathrooms, showers, laundromat, store, great walking trails! Staff was helpful and courtesy. We plan on using this location on an annual basis for our reunion. Will probably put a picture or two of our event at a later date. Cabins were available at a reasonable nightly price, but NO dogs allowed in them. Just to let you know, we saw lots of squirrels, chipmunks, rabbits, birds, etc on site Happy camping to all!!

Room Tip: Bring your motorhome or trailer and enjoy full hookups at the Cottonwood area of the Rancho Jurupa Campgrounds. .
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Great water attraction but too many people playing and most of them adults or rowdy teenagers. Makes it hard for little ones to play. But its a great way to get cool in the hot sun. We visited three bathroom during our visit, two were very clean and one was very dirty but it was getting close to the later afternoon and they did come to clean it.
They had a play area for certain age groups. This was great so big kids didn't overrun the play are. They have camping and even little cabins for those who don't camp. We visited for day camping only.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

If your traveling thru the LA Basin this is a great place to spend a night or more. Way off the freeway ( Min ). Quiet at night. Lots of room and plenty of pull thru spots. Camped there in a Class A Motorhome with Boat attached. I was about 75 feet long and did not have to unhitch, 50amp power, water, sewer. Easy online reservations. Reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnnieXXXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews