We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got Much More Than We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Got Much More Than We Expected”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband had a medical appointment early the next morning and this area was three and half hours from home. We chose this property for value and convenience of location. As others have noted, from the outside you don't expect too much. But once we walked in the lobby we were greeted graciously, made to feel welcome and given directions to our room and all the conveniences. Once we arrived in our room, I noticed a printed letter written with our name in the greeting. That was a first. Then I noticed a second message handwritten to us to enjoy our stay. Everything was nice, tasteful, clean with much attention to detail. Breakfast was nice, as well. And talk about convenience, from the time we left our room, we were at our car in under three minutes. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petite1Redding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    73
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
54
30
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here June 2012 for 4 nights. 12 minute drive to Stanford University, even during morning traffic (830am). Rooms are in very good condition, very clean, well maintained, and comfortable (flat screen TV, good sized bathroom, beds in good condition). Rooms toward the back are quiet and cannot hear noise from El Camino (e.g. room 231). Free wifi and free breakfast, in case you're in a rush, which is a nice touch. All in all, a very good value choice when in the Peninsula. Thai and mexican food within walking distance, and a short drive (<10 min) to nice restaurants in Menlo Park, as well Stanford/Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back (e.g. 231, 331) are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

There are two Holiday Inn Express motels in Redwood City, both on El Camino Real. This review is for the one at 1836 El Camino Real.

The outside appearance of the motel is deceiving. The building previously was a different motel chain, so the building looks and may be old. The street level floor of the building consists only of a very small lobby. The remainder of the street level floor of the property is parking spaces under the rest of the building. All the rooms are on the second and third floors of the building.

The second and third floors are striking. They have been entirely renovated, from appearances very recently, with new carpeting, furnishings, painting and a flat screen TV and small refrigerator. The rooms are well laid out and very comfortable. The narrow front of the building faces El Camino Real, which is a well trafficked street, but only two rooms on opposites sides of the hallway on each of the two room floors face the street. Those two rooms on each floor may get some noise from auto traffic, but as the building moves back from the street. any noise quickly drop off. My room was on the third floor in the back of the building, and was as quiet as could be imagined. I walked to the window at the end of the hallway that fronts the street and heard no traffic noise.

The breakfast room, located on the second floor, is small but clean. We had no trouble getting a table on any of the three weekdays we were there. An attendant is alway present to keep the food and beverages stocked and to do any necessary cleaning. The free breakfast was good, consisting of the normal items served at chain motels.

The staff was very courteous and responsive.

For those like me who do not have an electronic device that can access the internet, this motel does not have a separate computer room, but allows guests to use one of the computers at the front desk. Room telephone calls to the same 650 area code as the motel are free.

El Camino Real by the motel is a commercial area of retail businesses, but it and the surrounding neighborhood are clean and nice. There would be no concern about walking the street or the area.

I am puzzled by reviews that give a rating below 4 or 5, very good or excellent. I can only surmise that the writers of those reviews stayed at the other Holiday Inn Express in Redwood City, but mistakenly wrote their reviews for this HIE. Tripadvisor.com makes such a mistake all too easy by not indexing motels of the same brand in the same city by address. However, I never stayed at the other HIE, and am not suggesting that those reviews are accurate even for that other HIE.

In my view, one could not ask for a better accomodation than the HIE at 1836 at or near the price, especially the discounted price for noncancellable, nonfundable reservations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyer4930006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in room 201. It is the room closest to the street. There was mild street noise until about 11pm but we slept well despite being light sleepers.

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Sofa bed could hold two people but because it sags, it's more comfortable for one.

Breakfast was excellent. Good selection of food, clean. Yoghurts and hard boiled eggs were refrigerated. Coffee was fine.

Staff was gracious and helpful.

Hotel is on the edge of a sketchy neighborhood, but we had no problems. Left nothing in the car at night. There is a median divider so you can only make a right turn into parking structure. If you are coming from the other direction, turn lt on oak (stop light before the hotel) and circle the block to the right.

DId not notice the fan sound another reviewer noted.

Not far from Whole Foods if you wish to stock your refrigerator with special diet foods.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 301 are closest to Camino Real and thus will have more street noise. Rooms 234 and 32...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLynch7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel was on the edge of a sketchy area and a nice area. With that being said, we came and went from the hotel at all hours (with flights coming in late at night and leaving early in the morning) and we never felt unsafe. The room was clean and quiet (something that I'm picky about). It was a good location between San Jose and San Francisco. The continental breakfast was decent and the staff was really nice.
It was a nice place to stay for a quick weekend trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennHenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
6.1 km away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,351 reviews
0.9 km away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
195 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
107 reviews
0.9 km away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
195 reviews
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price range (per night): $194 - $483
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing