We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express
Nearby Hotels
Pullman San Francisco Bay(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 162*
Pullman
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Courtyard Redwood City(Redwood City)
USD 190*
Courtyard
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Redwood Creek Inn(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 201*
USD 190*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Inn(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 155*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 224*
USD 209*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 112*
USD 102*
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Good Nite Inn - Redwood City(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 103*
USD 95*
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 186*
USD 180*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Euro Hotel(Redwood City)(Great Value!)
USD 95*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
97
82
16
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
82
16
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel caminobreakfast roomfront desknice notewoodside roadusb portsextra toucheswelcome bagmake a u turnfavorite thingsihg memberthird floorfree parkingexcellent breakfastreliable wifipriority clubbusy street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here June 2012 for 4 nights. 12 minute drive to Stanford University, even during morning traffic (830am). Rooms are in very good condition, very clean, well maintained, and comfortable (flat screen TV, good sized bathroom, beds in good condition). Rooms toward the back are quiet and cannot hear noise from El Camino (e.g. room 231). Free wifi and free breakfast, in case you're in a rush, which is a nice touch. All in all, a very good value choice when in the Peninsula. Thai and mexican food within walking distance, and a short drive (<10 min) to nice restaurants in Menlo Park, as well Stanford/Palo Alto.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back (e.g. 231, 331) are quiet
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

There are two Holiday Inn Express motels in Redwood City, both on El Camino Real. This review is for the one at 1836 El Camino Real.

The outside appearance of the motel is deceiving. The building previously was a different motel chain, so the building looks and may be old. The street level floor of the building consists only of a very small lobby. The remainder of the street level floor of the property is parking spaces under the rest of the building. All the rooms are on the second and third floors of the building.

The second and third floors are striking. They have been entirely renovated, from appearances very recently, with new carpeting, furnishings, painting and a flat screen TV and small refrigerator. The rooms are well laid out and very comfortable. The narrow front of the building faces El Camino Real, which is a well trafficked street, but only two rooms on opposites sides of the hallway on each of the two room floors face the street. Those two rooms on each floor may get some noise from auto traffic, but as the building moves back from the street. any noise quickly drop off. My room was on the third floor in the back of the building, and was as quiet as could be imagined. I walked to the window at the end of the hallway that fronts the street and heard no traffic noise.

The breakfast room, located on the second floor, is small but clean. We had no trouble getting a table on any of the three weekdays we were there. An attendant is alway present to keep the food and beverages stocked and to do any necessary cleaning. The free breakfast was good, consisting of the normal items served at chain motels.

The staff was very courteous and responsive.

For those like me who do not have an electronic device that can access the internet, this motel does not have a separate computer room, but allows guests to use one of the computers at the front desk. Room telephone calls to the same 650 area code as the motel are free.

El Camino Real by the motel is a commercial area of retail businesses, but it and the surrounding neighborhood are clean and nice. There would be no concern about walking the street or the area.

I am puzzled by reviews that give a rating below 4 or 5, very good or excellent. I can only surmise that the writers of those reviews stayed at the other Holiday Inn Express in Redwood City, but mistakenly wrote their reviews for this HIE. Tripadvisor.com makes such a mistake all too easy by not indexing motels of the same brand in the same city by address. However, I never stayed at the other HIE, and am not suggesting that those reviews are accurate even for that other HIE.

In my view, one could not ask for a better accomodation than the HIE at 1836 at or near the price, especially the discounted price for noncancellable, nonfundable reservations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyer4930006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in room 201. It is the room closest to the street. There was mild street noise until about 11pm but we slept well despite being light sleepers.

Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Sofa bed could hold two people but because it sags, it's more comfortable for one.

Breakfast was excellent. Good selection of food, clean. Yoghurts and hard boiled eggs were refrigerated. Coffee was fine.

Staff was gracious and helpful.

Hotel is on the edge of a sketchy neighborhood, but we had no problems. Left nothing in the car at night. There is a median divider so you can only make a right turn into parking structure. If you are coming from the other direction, turn lt on oak (stop light before the hotel) and circle the block to the right.

DId not notice the fan sound another reviewer noted.

Not far from Whole Foods if you wish to stock your refrigerator with special diet foods.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 301 are closest to Camino Real and thus will have more street noise. Rooms 234 and 324 are furthest from the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLynch7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel was on the edge of a sketchy area and a nice area. With that being said, we came and went from the hotel at all hours (with flights coming in late at night and leaving early in the morning) and we never felt unsafe. The room was clean and quiet (something that I'm picky about). It was a good location between San Jose and San Francisco. The continental breakfast was decent and the staff was really nice.
It was a nice place to stay for a quick weekend trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennHenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Do not stay at this hotel if you need to sleep. Walked into the bathroom and was greeted with a faint sewer smell, and a fan that sounded like a jack hammer. The bathroom fan does not turn off so if you have trouble sleeping close to loud noises you will need something to knock you out before going to bed. I went down to the front desk to see if there was anything that could be done about the noise. The woman at the counter asked which room I was in. She knew exactly which room I was talking about because I was not the first person to complain. I asked for a different room, but they were all sold out. Went back up to my room to try and sleep, but it was not going to happen. Promptly packed up my things and went downstairs to check out. When I told the woman at the front desk not to charge my card, she told me that I would need to call the manager in the morning. The next day I called and got routed to his voice mail, so I left a message Unfortunately he did not give me a return call. Bottom line is they knew the room was broken but sold it for the night anyway.. and of course put the full charge on my card. Just stay away from this place, anywhere else is a better choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biztrav1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Dear biztrav1111,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews