We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific room! But Smoke-filled Casino to get there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific room! But Smoke-filled Casino to get there.”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The room we had was super: large, well appointed, comfortable, non-smoking with a fantastic view and a bathroom the size of a small ballroom with fixtures to match. The trick is that in order to get to this fantastic upper-floor room you have to navigate through a smoke-filled noisy casino.

We traveled to Agua Caliente with another couple who are gamblers; we are not. So this is the critical to our point of view. While our friends played the machines in the casino area, we took advantage of the the other attractions available to visitors of the Palm Springs area. Our friends showered down each night to clear away the casino-smoke odor acquired during their time playing the machines. We managed to avoid this requirement.

This review is centered on the hotel room, not the casino.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    177
    59
    33
    28
See reviews for
115
247
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here Feb 8 & 9 and thought we got great value for our money! The room was large and looks quite new - not old and dated like some hotels in the area. The bathroom is amazing - walk in shower, double sink, soaker tub and a tv in the bathroom too! The pool area was very nice, although oddly unattended. Towels were self-serve but the bar and snack grill were closed for whatever reason. Buffet closed Tues/Wed, which was disappointing. Waters Cafe was very good. Didn't try the steak house. Smoking is only an issue on the main floor by the casino. They gave us $25 Casino Cash just for showing Canadian I.D.! We got a good price on bookit.com, but I think the price goes up on the week-end. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Free valet parking was a nice luxury. We were in Room 610 which they called "pool view" but we called it "mountain view" as it had a beautiful view of the mountains. We were very pleased with everything about the hotel, and we are not smokers and only casual gamblers. We liked the location as it is a fairly quick 15 min trip from the airport. We also stayed at the Miramonte Resort on this trip (for twice the price) and we preferred the Agua Caliente because of the nice, new hotel rooms and the fact that they don't nickel and dime you for everything (free parking!). Walls are kinda thin (could hear a baby crying next door), but didn't see any children at all here, which suited us as we were celebrating our anniversary and left the kids at home!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view - has a nice view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We weren;t expecting much from the room and were very pleasantly surprised! Very modern, clean and new room, huge bathroom with amazing tub and shower, room itself very large. After calling the hotel directly the day before, I was told the only thing they had available was a suite for over $300/night! Checking the website, they had a "pet-friendly" King room for $134/night. A little hesitant, but went ahead and booked it. They charge you an extra $60 per pet you bring on top of that, but not if you're animal free. They do, however, charge everyone and extra $12/night as a resort fee. Parking, however, even valet, is complimentary. I have 2 large dogs at home, so I'm not at all sensitive to pet hair, smells, etc, but neither of us noticed that dogs were ever in the room. We're both very allergic to cats, however, but no reaction. At check-in, they never even asked us if we had a pet, so I even wonder if this was indeed one of the pet-friendly rooms.
The casino, which we have been to many times, is nice, if not small. It's is, however, extremely smokey, so much so that we couldn't even stay in it more than half and hour at a time! We didn;t eat in any of the restaurants or use the pool or spa. For a 1-night stop-over in Palm Desert it was fine, but not sure I'd want to stay much longer. It's about a 10 minute drive down to Highway 111 where all the good restaurants, shopping, movies etc. is. If you're not into gambling, I'd stay somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are spacious with separate shower and plenty of amenities. The pool is crystal clear with lifeguards. Plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas. The spa is excellent and very clean. The only negative was the smoke on the casino floor. On our room floor there was no evidence of any smoke. The food was excellent in the steakhouse and in Walters. We have been back several times.

Room Tip: ASk for an upgrade. all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu120639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed last week ( Feb. 8-11 ) at Agua Caliente for 3 nights. We stayed in an executive suite. Everything was fully comped including dinner in the Steakhouse which was absolutely superb. What has changed is the pricing of the food. Room service now charges more than the same meals at the Waters Café. The prices for room service went up quite considerably. Our usual room service breakfast used to cost a total of $37 including tax and tip. Now the exact same thing costs $48. Our usual breakfast is 2 omelets, 2 glasses of milk and an order of pancakes. They also raised the prices in the Waters café but not very much. It is still very good and fairly reasonable. This doesn't affect us because all of our food is comped but I thought it would be of interest.

Our stay was great and we came out ahead on gambling. I won my 5th Royal Flush in 3 months on Video Poker.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
6.5 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
8.1 km away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
6.8 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
7.9 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa

Property: Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Address: 32-250 Bob Hope Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price range (per night): $168 - $360
Hotel Class:4 star — Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the pleasures of a luxurious, four-diamond destination are yours at Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa in Rancho Mirage, California. Our beautiful 16-story resort includes our wildly popular casino, and has pools and well appointed cabanas, an exceptional spa, and a state-of-the-art concert theatre. Located only seven miles from Palm Springs International Airport and 130 miles east of Los Angeles off I -10 and Bob Hope Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agua Caliente Hotel Rancho Mirage
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa Rancho Mirage, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing