We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run Down, but getting better.”
Review of Ranchito Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quincy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranchito Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Run Down, but getting better.”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This used to be the worst place in town a few years ago. New owners are working hard to improve the property and it does show. Someday it will be one of the nicest places in Plumas County, but today it's just OK.
Furniture in room is very used and long past having needed to be replaced.
Things like TV's, telephones, coffee maker all work but are in need of replacement.
Carpet needs to be replaced (you know the type of carpet you don't want your bare-feet on).

The Bed was new and very comfortable.
The Grounds are very park like and give a nice woodsy feel.
The new owners are very friendly and accommodating and have pride in what they are doing with this property. I wish them all the best.

Room Tip: WiFi signal is weak in the back side of motel. If WiFi is important to you get as close to the offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSCmePleasanton_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchitoMotel, Owner at Ranchito Motel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. We appreciate your observations and are trying very hard to bring the Ranchito back to her glory. We look forward to your next visit so you can see our progress. Maybe we can get a five star rating from you next time. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
27
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I stayed here recently when in Quincy for a Family birthday party. My sister hosted the party but already had 11 people at her house, so I told her my parents and I would stay at a local motel. We've stayed at the Chalet previously but wanted to stay right in Quincy to be close. I chose the Ranchito Inn based on previous reviews and was very pleased. The owners were very friendly when I made my reservation and also upon our arrival. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Nice new TV. Great value. I travel extensively for work and found that even though this property is older, it is just as nice and comfortable as any large chain hotel. I will stay here again when visiting Quincy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliforniaAriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We ended up in Quincy unexpectedly when we got tired ahead of our planned stop. Looking to Trip Advisor for reviews, we selected this wonderful place based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. It felt more like a B&B than a motel. Tracy and John were so friendly and helpful with recommendations on restaurants. The bed was very comfy, as other reviewers have said. We will definitely return again, this time with intent. There is a coffeemaker in the room as well as soap - no hair dryer or shampoo/conditioner, but we'll bring our own when we come. Definitely worth the $79 we paid for a night.

Room Tip: They are very transparent about the prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticGreenEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed in late May for two nights. We were in the area for a friends wedding at the Greenhorn Ranch (another very cool place). This motel is so much nicer than the average motel - interesting rustic and antique features like the tile in the bathroom and wooden doors. And the bed was fabulously comfy. The owners were super friendly as others have mentioned. There is a very nice TV in the room as well (we stayed in room 10). The only thing that could have made it even more perfect (considering we paid less than $100/night) would have been a little more or better lighting in the room as there are so many beautiful trees surrounding the property with lots of shade, and perhaps a small refrigerator to keep drinks/snacks cold. Small things really..this property is a gem and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Our motorcycle club decided to do a Memorial weekend motorcycle ride from Sacramento to Quincy and then onto Fortbragg . So I made reservations originally for a block of 6 rooms for May 28th, 2011 with Tracy one of the new owners, but one friend couldn't make it so we ended up calling them around 9pm the night before to cancel the one room. Tracy was very nice and said that it would be no problem. On our way to Quincy we hit not only rain but snow flurries as well so, when we rolled into the parking lot of The Ranchito Motel around 4pm we just wanted to get into our rooms just as quickly as possible and drop all the leather gear everyone of us had on for the ride. Both Tracy and her Husband John were just great. they were super quick in getting us our rooms and the location of them was just perfect. The beds are super comfortable, and the rooms were immaculate. The heater a bit old, but you just turn it on when you arrive and within 15 to 20 mins it will have you roasting :) I will be recommending this motel to my families and friends. Thank you again John & Tracy!!!!

Room Tip: Be Courteous :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LB6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quincy
35.3 km away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.3 km away
Gold Pan Lodge
Gold Pan Lodge
#6 of 7 in Quincy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
37.1 km away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.5 km away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
36.8 km away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchito Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchito Motel

Property: Ranchito Motel
Address: 2020 E Main St, Quincy, CA 95971-9658
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Quincy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Quincy
Price range (per night): $88 - $161
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranchito motel is nestled in a peaceful park-like setting on 2.7 wooded acres with a babbling brook. The original motel was built in 1946,with slumpstone brick, recycled wood beams and doors,and antique tiling in the bathrooms. Another 15 rooms were added in the 1970's, which have a more contemporary feel. The rooms are clean and comfortable with brand new beds, free high-speed wireless internet, Direct TV, HBO and Cinemax, barbeque and picnic areas. We offer a small pet friendly environment for your beloved extended family. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes and there is one two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen and private patio and barbeque. All rooms have available to them a free DVD lending library. John and Tracy are new owners as of November 2010 and are striving to make the Ranchito Motel a pleasurable experience for all of their guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ranchito Motel Quincy
Ranchito Hotel Quincy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing