We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous ocean views from the bed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ocean views from the bed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Got a room upgrade for the midweek promotion and got a king ocean front suite for under $220/night.

May sound high but the Courtyard in SLO kind of out in middle of no where was $160/night and I thought for the extra $60 a night was well worth it! I tagged along with my hubby who was here on business and stays almost exclusively at Marriott properties for business.

I was worried about the room quality due to the mixed reviews and my hubby and I are very picky about expecting to stay in updated and super clean rooms. I know beach hotels aling the central coast can be really run down so We were happily surprised when we got to our suite room. It was called the Lighthouse Suite on the 4th floor.immediately all we saw was OCEAN!! Floor to ceiling windows, white plantation style shutters and the expanse of ocean! It was spacious with a sitting area and tv, desk that was partially separated by a half wall to the bed area. Not sure if the couch was a sofa bed? Cute tufts fir extra seating. Both areas had tvs, sliding glass doors to a spacious balcony that wrapped around the entire suite. Walls on both sides of the balcony gave privacy from the adjacent balconies. There were clean patio furniture (2 loungers and several chairs and a small table. I laid out in the sun and it was cool but sunny and glorious :)

THE VIEW- Breathtaking! And full ocean front it is! The landscape of the central coast is beautiful and it was quiet (besides the relaxing crashing waves)and peaceful. You can lay in bed, take a bath in a deep soaking tub or even
Sit on the pot (sorry) with a full view of the majestic ocean.

The room was clean, with updated decor- a Moroccan type patterns which we love. The colors are neutral and feel beachy yet sophisticated. The bed linens were crisp, white and good quality. Lots of pillows and plenty of towels, bath sheets, etc. We always appreciate extra towels without having to ask for them!

There was bath gel, salts and a cute rubber Ducky with the cliffs name on it (wonder if I can take it as a souvenir?) the bathroom was all white Carrera marble. The fixtures seemed dated but no biggie. The shower was large with both a hand held and fixed shower head. I see what the previous poster meant about hoping the grout was stained with comet due to a faint green tinge. Don't know what to make of it but it didn't look like mold/mildew- that would've grossed me out.

There's a fridge stocked with complementary waters, a keuring machine but no mini bar or safe.

Service was good in our experience. Valet was available (says free but yes, you are charged a $15 day resort fee). We just self parked because parking was ample. The fee apparently also covers the fruit and bottled water.
There's oranges and green apples at the front desk. The sundry store was closed when we arrived at 1pm and was closed when we walked by other times that day so not sure when it's open. Looks like it had a few souvenirs in there.

There is beach access despite what others have said. But it does involve steps.

We stayed 2 nights and thought
It was a nice place to enjoy the central coast. If you are looking for top notch luxury (eg four seasons or even JW class hotel, this isn't it but if you are used to staying at decent hotels (Marriott, Hilton etc) this should make you happy. The central Coast is beautiful and charming and its not the amalfi Coast. Its not full of luxury resorts. It's an old hotel but it's been kept up and while it's been "recently renovated" I'm not sure how many years ago, and it's not brand newly renovated so it's not perfect but we really enjoyed our stay. You can't ask for a better full ocean view. We will be back.

PS didn't try their restaurant marisols but ate at the cracked crab in Pismo which had very good fresh seafood in a very causal atmosphere but was over-priced.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PernicketyGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    294
    102
    56
    46
See reviews for
260
404
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed with our 4 and 6 yr. old for a business/pleasure trip. The rooms are spacious and getting one with a view is worth it, absolutely stunning. We also went to the pool which is heated and were able to get lunch from the restaurant next door to eat by the pool. You can walk down to the ocean from the hotel. I don't know how this compares to other hotels in the area but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The cliffs and enjoyed ourselves greatly! The room had a great view the bed was so comfy and we stayed in the sunset suite so we had an awesome jet tub that was so comfy with an adjustable TV. We watched tv while sitting in a jet tub. Doesn't get much better then that! The jets did randomly turn on at 4am and scare me half to death but we got them off and informed the resort during check out. They were so great about it they gave us $25 off of our stay. It was a good stay overall! Eat at Marisol! The food was better then I expected.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellieannrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarendon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The people and atmosphere were very friendly. While the bathrooms could use a bit of updating, the room overall was comfortable (the beds were a bit too soft) to stay and work in. We paid for the daily breakfast buffet which worked out well. Since we stayed 4 nights the buffet was repetitive but the food was very good. Great happy hour specials!

Room Tip: Try to face the pool/ocean...definitely worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I am very excited to share that we have hired a pastry chef here at The Cliffs, to help enhance our buffet and dessert offerings! We have new flavors of muffins and more fresh fruit on the buffet each day, and with the different omelet fillings available each morning, I hope that guests will be able to design a more personal and delicious breakfast each day of their stay. Hopefully we will get a chance to host you again soon, and you can let us know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

No complimentary breakfast, room was comfortable and stylish. Bad referral for Pacific Dunes Horseback Riding, beware this outfit, they overbooked us, a party of 2 persons on a birthday, don't get your hopes up when dealing with them, recommend J & J Riding further up north or one the others.

Room Tip: Not by an elevator or service door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLCervantez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with Pacific Dunes. While we make recommendations based on our own experiences or what we have heard about service providers in the area, it always helps when our guests come back and let us know how the businesses are currently operating. I hope that J&J Riding was able to turn around your birthday visit and we here at The Cliffs helped make it a very memorable trip on our end!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
3.1 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
4.2 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
4.1 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
4.0 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
5.4 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): $260 - $428
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing