We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pismo Beach area has it all!”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pismo Beach area has it all!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We spent the week after Thanksgiving here. Weather was fantasitic. We saw whales from our room balcony! That was also the perfect place to watch the sunset. Kayak and beach ATV rentals close by were fun. Lots of great restaurants within 10 miles. Nearby Avila Beach provided great shopping, golf and ocean access as well. Exploring caves along the cliffs was a new adventure for us and we loved it. The Great American Melodrama provided great evening entertainment, good for age 8 and up. The rooms were large and clean. The "smell" mentioned in another review was not evident during our stay. There is a pool but it is not heated. Having breakfast included was nice.

Room Tip: I'd suggest avoiding the lower floor and asking for the north end to ensure a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    598
    150
    61
    38
See reviews for
572
866
50
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel is situated close to Pismo Beach, but it is not in Pismo.
The hotel or motel, if you ask me, is located by the roadside, but also present it self as a nice three star hotel.
The reception smells like pee, and yes, there is a reason for it. The reason is that the hotel/motel has a huge bird nest mountain below it, which smells so bad you are at all times being close to womit.
The rooms are ok, fearly new, but a terrible AC, and also you stink out your room if you open the balcony door.
I am REALLY surprised to see almost no one else than we are telling other travellers about this.
The "spa" treatment center is perhaps the biggest con in history, as it is a small room on 3 by 3 feet.
This hotel is cheap, but not as cheap as it should be.

The little staff we met were very rude, especially in the reception.

STAY AWAY!!! Unless you are a birdlover....

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann_travellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our journey up the CA Coast ... the rooms have been updated, and the view from the balcony was outstanding. It's almost hard to believe that this view does not belong to a high end Ritz or Marriott ... Best Western? Anyway, it was a room that worked just fine, with a view of sunset that just blew us away ... at a very reasonable price. The continental breakfast served next door at Ventanas was nothing special, but the coffee worked. Special note: there are two hotels, both Best Western, both owned by the same company in this location. We'd mistakenly reserved the BW Shelter Cove and realized we'd goofed when we arrived. They let us move the reservation at no penalty -- thanks!

Room Tip: Be sure you get the right Best Western ... and specifically ask for the Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I realy enjoyed my stay i was in a room on the second floor facing the beach and the pier the room was clean nice deco and the staff was friendly they were remodeling the weekend i stayed so there were no full ocean view room available but the remodel really makes it worth staying my only complaint is that Ive stayed in much cheaper hotels and had hot breakfast this hotel doesnt have nor offer ( I would have paid for ) hot breakfast which is a slight disapointment but overall I really enjoyed my view the service and cleanlyness of the hotel convient location with stellar views what more could you ask for

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raychael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The price for this hotel is great for the location. Unfortuntately, the plumbing is very noisy. It sounded like the pipes were coming through the walls. We were awaken at 6:00 am when the neighbor units used the showers. We checked out a day early.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNow1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.4 km away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.7 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.3 km away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
3.6 km away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.7 km away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price range (per night): $254 - $600
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing