We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Valdemosa B&B is like Tuscany in Paso Robles, California”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desperado Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desperado Inn
Ranked #27 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Villa Valdemosa B&B is like Tuscany in Paso Robles, California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

PROS: For a little slice of Old World Europe right here in California, Villa Valderosa in Paso Robles, California is that and more. After traveling all across the U.S., I've never been more relaxed. Our room with private bath and lots of closet space was clean, and the bed was as comfortable as our own at home (that's a rarity to find when you are traveling). The sheets were soft and smelled so fresh. The spacious interior of Villa Valdemosa was a welcoming Tuscan architecture, and beautifully decorated with extra high ceilings and very thick walls that ensured us a lot of privacy. Parking was easy and very secure. The food was incredible with hot coffee waiting for us by the time we woke up, followed by large hot muffin-size fluffy egg souffles accompanied by a papaya chutney and toast, orange juice, and granola. Our meal ended with bowl of fresh fruit. All this amidst the fragrance of fresh lavender bushes in full bloom that formed a necklace along the circular private rode which lead up to the top of the hill where Villa Valdemosa rules the view. Our breakfast perch was in a gazebo across the huge lawn from the main house. It seemed to float on thin air. From there, we had a 300 degree view for 50 miles across the vineyard floor and onto second and third unit mountain ranges ending in a purple color wash in the distance. At home, we suffer from daily noise pollution, so the stark difference of the peacefulness of chirping birds, zooming dragonflies, a glimpse of deer in the distance, and fresh fresh air in our lungs was more than we could even imagine as city dwellers. At night, we saw a forest of constellations winking down at us in the darkness, which was a special thrill for my wife, who is an amateur astronomer. Our host was a spirited conversationalist who is worldly enough to broach any subject knowledgeably. He was most helpful in making recommendations for restaurants and places to visit in the area. By the end of our stay at Villa Valdemosa, we were made to feel like old friends. The innkeeper can be reached at this email: tomr1000@yahoo.com.

CONS: Still Waters Winery is at the foot of the the hill where you enter the road to Villa Valdemosa. The winery's sign is easy to spot, but there's no sign for Villa Valdemosa right there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytourschedule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    31
    18
    28
    27
See reviews for
11
144
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We cannot say enough about the beautiful property, comfortable room, and warm hospitality of Tom (the owner) at Villa Valdemosa. My husband and I had planned to stay just one night. But the moment we arrived (right on time for a stunning sunset overlooking rolling hills of Paso's vineyards) we knew we had to stay an extra night!

Everything at Valdemosa - from the deer frollicking about, to the delicious breakfast each morning - was just wonderful. The whole way home we just kept saying it was one of the best trips we'd ever taken.

We highly recommend it if you're looking something romantic and serene. Plus, it's nice to be away from any hustle and bustle, yet within a few minutes of several lovely wineries, and a few miles from town. Tom is also a great resource for the best dinner spots, and wineries.

Simply lovely!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Villa Valdemosa for a 3 night getaway. It was perfect. Tom is a gracious host and made us feel right at home. Watching the deer with their fawns in the morning while drinking coffee and taking in the scenery was awsome. A most memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamRamona_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Disappointed - will never stay there again
Took host over 8 hours to get a roll of toilet paper for us
No room service, got clean towels once after 3 days
The only nice thing during our stay was the view and the wildlife

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purrnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomr67, Owner and General Manager at Desperado Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
In business there is an old saying" you can't please all the people all the time" but as a top quality lodging provider ( read the many other reviews) we keep trying anyway, knowing that there will always be those who are NEVER happy no matter the extent you try to please them, and this is one of them.
Our policy, which was explained to these travelers upon arrival, is to change linens and completely service rooms after 3 days, unless requested otherwise. All our rooms have en suite full baths, and are freshened every morning while guests are out and away. This guest does not even mention the complimentary dinner they were served on their last night here, nor the many special requests that were responded to with diligence and care during their visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paso Robles hotels

Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The home is up in the hills above all and offers INCREDIBLE views. It's peaceful and you can really get a restful stay. It certainly beats in/out of a hotel room by far. Tom is an excellent host and is very accommodating. He cooks up tasty breakfasts too. There's nothing I would change and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ct_4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
10.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Paso Robles
18.6 km away
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
The Creekside Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Wild Coyote Estate Winery Bed & Breakfast
17.9 km away
San Marcos Creek Vineyard & Winery
15.7 km away
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
The Inn at Croad Vineyards
#3 of 30 in Paso Robles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desperado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desperado Inn

Property: Desperado Inn
Address: 2552 Old Grove Ln, Paso Robles, CA 93446-9438 (Formerly The Sundance Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price range (per night): $282 - $401
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desperado Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our romantic Villa located close to town and yet worlds away. Surrounded by vineyards, bask in the sun by the pool and enjoy see forever views from our 1200 ft elevation on a ten acre estate,lined with olive trees, lavender, and many kinds of flowers. Four suites, all with full bath, private patios or walk out sundecks. Southwest/Tuscan decor; eclectic furnishings; flat screen DVD players in every room for private movie viewing our library of over 500 first run movies. Air conditioned, Pool, serene, exclusive. Owner is Executive Chef and winemaker. Est. 2007.. Ten minutes from 20 wineries, located in the heart of the "Backroads wine district" in east Paso Robles. WALK to a nearby winery for a picnic and tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Desperado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles
Valdemosa Hotel Paso Robles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing