We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in Pasadena” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Pasadena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westin Pasadena
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Pasadena
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect in Pasadena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Great business hotel, in a very good location. Rooms are very comfortable and the room services was very quick.

Check in was very quick and efficient, although the guest checking in next to me didn't appear to be altogether satisfied.

Gym is well equipped and the pool enjoys wonderful views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivvieAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for chosing Westin to be your home away from home while traveling on business. I hope that you have the opportunity of visiting us again when you can relax and truly enjoy the benefits of our hotel and the city of Pasadena. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    482
    179
    91
    50
See reviews for
263
339
90
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

From the moment we arrived, things didn't go as planned. Our room wasn't ready (at 5:00 pm!) so we had to wait nearly half an hour in the lobby. I was told our room had a view of City Hall as requested, but it did not - however the view of the mountains was equally nice, as it turns out). Then we began to notice all the oversights - the remote control for the TV was missing. There was no shampoo in the bathroom. There was no bath mat for the shower - had to use a hand towel. And while we'd paid for a room with wi-fi, the front desk had neglected to give us the code (which, as it turns out, only lasts 24 hours - you have to call every day to ask for it.)
But the worst oversight of all, as it cost us $46, was when we checked in and we were asked whether we used valet parking, I responded no, I'd found parking. (We found a spot on the street a block away, and had carefully checked the street signs - there was two hour parking until 6 pm, and parking hours resumed at 9 am). Well, we arrived at our car at 8:30 am on Monday to discover a $46 ticket, as apparently Pasadena has a rule of no street parking from 2 am to 6 am! Who knew? When checking in, if a guest says they did not use valet parking, please inform them of this rule...as signs on the street did not include this.
On the positive side,the beds are extremely comfortable, the room is a reasonable size - we have an Executive with 2 doubles. Shower with the double head is pleasant. Our corner room was very quiet - no noise from neighboring rooms (although inconsiderate guests shouting to each other in the hallways at 7:00 am can be heard). On the 7th floor, on the north side of the building, traffic noise isn't bad. Location is very convenient - walk a few blocks to Colorado St. for shops and restaurants. We had a great dinner at Roy's, and a pretty good dinner at Mi Piace. My daughter enjoyed the workout room and the pool.
Room furnishings are goofy and could use an update - they have the look of something acquired at a going out of business sale - and the mini-fridge is just plunked on the floor between the desk and a chair. Really? The telephone was dusty, and as I mentioned, several basic amenities were missing (shampoo, bath mat, remote control). But thanks to the comfy bed, you are forgiven. Now please give your housekeeping and front desk staff some better training on the basics, and you'll be good to go!

Room Tip: Executive corner rooms on upper floor, facing west or north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meerkat_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
I would like to apologize that your visit to our hotel did not go as planned. I would like to think that the staff did not understand that you found parking on the street. Regardless, I am sorry that you received a violation. That being said, I am glad that you were comfortable during your stay after you got into your room. I have addressed your concerns regarding the amenities and cleanliness of your room with our Executive Housekeeper and stressed that finishing a room is critical to our guests' experience. I hope that you will visit us again and find that we are truly "good to go".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here end of March at the tail end of our holiday. Great location as it is a 5 minute walk to the open air mall and about 10 mins down to old pasadena. The hotel has a complimentary car to shuttle you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. a great service as they also do pickups! breakfast was good - definitely try the belgium waffles!

Our room was nice but the safe wasnt working. also the room was very dusty. there was literally a layer of dust visible on most table tops, etc. o

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YewMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always looking to be better and your comments about dust will serve as reinforcemnt with our room attendants. I hope that you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is nice but a little expensive for what you get. I spent 2 nights in an executive room, which was roomy and comfortable, but not for $250 a night. The pool and spa are beautiful and nicely located. You get a beautiful view of city hall from the spa. They have a steam bath and sauna too!

Maid service lacked. I basically tipped for my bed to be made, and that's it. No coffee cup or creamer replacement the next day, nor was anything dusted. It gets dusty in the foothills. I called a few times to talk to someone about it and the phone just rang and rang. No one picked it up. That's not acceptable.

The food at the bar was excellent! Try the Angus burger and the chicken quesadilla. Yummy.

Next time I'll get a cheaper room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy L, General Manager at The Westin Pasadena, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us. As I am sure that you are aware, our rates do fluctuate with demand. I am glad that you enjoyed your room and enjoyed the amenities of our pool and fitness center.I hope that you will choose to stay with us when you come to Pasadena in the future.

BTW, the Angus Burger is one of my favorites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Very luxurious rooms with great amenities! We especially loved the roof top pool! So beautiful! The gardens were also lovely. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pasadena hotels
1.1 km away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
3.3 km away
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
0.8 km away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#5 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.8 km away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#7 of 31 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.8 km away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Pasadena

Property: The Westin Pasadena
Address: 191 N Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, CA 91101-1707
Region: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pasadena
#2 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#3 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price range (per night): $290 - $649
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Pasadena 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find us in the heart of one of California's most exciting cities, with easy access to cultural sites such as the Historic Old Town, museums, restaurants, and the Rose Bowl Stadium. We're also only a short distance from the Pasadena Conference Center. We offer 345 crisp, clean guest rooms and five unique suites, all boasting our signature white Westin Heavenly(R) Bed with pillow-top mattress. Many rooms offer great courtyard or mountain views, and all are furnished with the uplifting Heavenly(R) Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Westin Pasadena
Pasadena Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing