We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of Cowper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowper Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Palo Alto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Certainly the worst service we've had on this California trip. No one to greet us on arrival. No one to explain how to log onto the Wifi (in Silicon Valley no less). Breakfast was mediocre. Room was small and smelt strange. On check-out we called out and rang the bell several times before phoning. We could hear the manager / proprietor on the other side of the door - well within earshot of the bell. She appeared reluctantly, made a few excuses and offered a $4 discount on a $179 bill.

You will do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smccure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Cowper Inn is a quaint B & B, but if you use them I would recommend you ask them for the room that is not on the first floor. I it by the front door and people have to lock and unlock it when they come in and out, which is all night. Oh and there is that lovely "Ring this bell" for service annoyance all day. 

And in the morning, there is a loud echo because all the people eating and talking sitting in the lobby or dining area are literally on the other side of the door. I went out at 7:3o am today and asked 2 men if they didn't mind talking more softly because there was an echo into my room. They did but 3 more people arrive a few minutes later and it started all over.

I killed 3 Mosquitos in the bathroom and 1 giant spider last night, but today I woke up to a spider web connecting my deodorant to the mirror over the sink.

I called for directions from airport but the person who answered kept hanging up and saying I had wrong number. 3 people called number on website same thing. So I found my way here and the door was locked. I had no idea how to get in. They should email guests with information about how to get in if there is no one here, when they confirm.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladiosa3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at the Cowper Inn for one week during which time we stayed in 2 different rooms. We were in the room 26 as mentioned in a previous review. We were initially thrilled with the space, though as we settled it was clear the furnishings were old and poorly maintained. Kitchenette poorly stocked- a few random utensils, no cleaning supplies, no kitchen towels. Housekeeping left dishes to be dried on paper towels which left a wet mess for us to clean up. Bathrobes in closet were old, pill-y fleece in serious need of replacement- rough on the skin when worn. Bedroom eaves were so steep you couldn't stand next to bed. This room DID NOT have its own en suite bath, but rather had a "private" bath down the hall which was inconvenient and full of black mold creeping up the wall corners. Yuck. Management- PLEASE revamp room 26 and its bath.

The second room was a major upgrade. In the main house, larger private bathroom, nicely appointed with furniture that felt appropriate for B&B without feeling tired.

The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed some of the best blueberry pancakes I've ever eaten. We thought management and housekeeping were friendly, we did notice that there was rarely anyone at the front desk, so can see others' frustration at check in, etc. I wil say that the price for this downtown Palo Alto location is probably the lowest you'll find. Are we just getting what we pay for?

This review is a tough one... Avoid the Victorian House- it needs some serious TLC. Truthfully, I would not send my family here to stay given the inconsistency among rooms and potential for discomfort and less than ideal conditions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Cowper Inn has great potential, but poor execution. The location is marvelous, and the suites are housed in two grand old Craftsman houses. Unfortunately, the rooms are tiny and everything in them is old or cheap. The beds (I popped into and explored several rooms) are all *very* soft. The furniture was old, chairs had worn upholstery and uncomfortable. Doors didn't fit tightly. Hallway lights that stay on all night shone into the room. You can hear all your neighbors. Even the wallpaper in my room was starting to peel off. When things have been replaced, the innkeepers have used the cheapest possible (e.g., plastic faucets, Ikea furniture in the dining room, etc.) You can get a larger, more private, and equally charmless suite at a hotel for less money. Food was acceptable; not remarkable. All in all, the place is overpriced. It needs updating. On the upside, at least it is clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeripateticProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is from October 2009.

We stayed in the Victorian house of Cowper Inn in room 26. While the room is spacious and has a small alcove room with a single bed and the main room with the full bed, the inn itself is old and dusty and not cheap. (We paid a total of $184). Also it was very stuffy in the area with the large bed with no air conditioning with a loud noisy fan to cool the room.

Also we were trying to check in at 3 pm (check in can start at 2 pm) but we got a sign that said out to lunch. Why would you go on your errand or lunch when people are going to check in?

Anyway our friends were staying in the craftsman house next door and it was much much better - it actually was cooler more well kept, cleaner. It was like heaven and the other place. They even had soft short robes were as the Victorian looked liked something out of a scary movie.

At least they had good chocolate chip cookies and Aveda products.

If you stay here, make sure you stay in main house - the craftsman. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Craftsman house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank augusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palo Alto hotels
0.2 km away
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#6 of 27 in Palo Alto
414 reviews
5.4 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
3.6 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cardinal Hotel
Cardinal Hotel
#12 of 27 in Palo Alto
249 reviews
0.6 km away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
0.7 km away
Hotel Keen
Hotel Keen
#18 of 27 in Palo Alto
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowper Inn

Address: 705 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-2603
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Palo Alto
Price Range: $279 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cowper Inn is a beautifully restored Craftsman style house that recreates the comfort and elegance of the period's best homes. The parlor, with several conversation areas, a fireplace, and a piano, is a warm and gracious room for visiting or relaxing. Each uniquely shaped guest room is furnished with antiques, television, and telephone. Breakfast, featuring seasonal fruit and fresh-baked breads, is served daily in the paneled dining room. Guests may enjoy sitting outside on the two wicker-decorated porches or in the garden. There is parking on the grounds and easy access to public transportation to San Francisco and San Jose. The Inn is part of the quiet residential neighborhood of Professorville. Downtown Palo Alto's restaurants, shops, and people watching are a two minute walk from the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cowper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowper Hotel Palo Alto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing