We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the Desert!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a very clean well kept quiet property. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The towels are thick and dreamy! The small kitchen had everything we needed to cook a couple of wonderful dinners. (BBQ) We were well taken care of at this property. The pool is sparkley clean. Lots of places to go for dinner within walking distance. Thank you to Jim and staff for a wonderful holiday! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    15
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our stay was from Christmas Eve for 3 nights. Palm Springs is bustling at that time of year but this place retained an air of desert calm. From the impeccably kept patios and pool area to the soothing, very spacious interiors, the overall effect was completely relaxing. The managers are so nice and helpful, the rates are very reasonable. I love the '50s Palm Springs architecture. There were bikes available to use with no charge. The pool is sparkling and clean. It's just perfect for a peaceful, grown ups getaway.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

What a discovery this was! Small hotel with 50's charm with units around the courtyard and pool, and tucked in against the mountain. It is only two blocks away from Palm Springs downtown and in the midst of mid-century residential architecture. We had easy access to restaurants, museums, entertainment, and walks. Our room was spotlessly clean and the property well maintained. We could eat breakfast outside under the umbrella by the pool while reading the local newspaper. Coffee was ready for us in the small kitchen. The place was quiet - no parties. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would gladly go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Desert Hills is an excellent small hotel. It has a great setting tucked up against the mountain in "Old Palm Springs." It is small, quiet, and within easy walking distance to the downtown core. Arranged around a pool and hot tub area, the rooms are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The hotel staff is friendly without being intrusive and they are on task.

We have stayed at a number of small hotels in "Old Palm Springs" over the past fifteen years. Our stay at the Desert Hills was the best of them all. We will be back when next we have the opportunity.

Room Tip: We had Room # 27 and it was great. But, the place is small - you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Found this place online when looking for a small, mellow, mid-century modern place to stay near downtown.
Desert Hills has it all! Built in 1956... it has the awesome architecture of that time.
The place is small and laid back with 14 rooms surrounding the pool.
The place is very clean and well taken care of... especially considering the age.
We were in a Standard Studio Suite which was steps from the pool and also had a small kitchen.
Most of the guests were older couples, 50+. We were definitely the youngest people there. This place is mellow......... NOT a party place. but a good place to go if you just want to relax by the pool and take in the classic Palm Springs vibe.

Great location in the Tennis Club district. Only a few short blocks to downtown. Plus complimentary cruiser bikes and many good places to ride. WIFI and a basic continental breakfast included too.

No kids. No dogs.

We were here in May and the cost was $179 a night plus taxes for a studio.
We tried to go back a couple times after the first visit, but it was SO hard to get anyone to answer the phone at this place to make a reservation, so we ended up going to other similar hotels instead. I will defintely go back someday tho.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#19 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 km away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 km away
The Willows
The Willows
#13 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 km away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Property: Desert Hills
Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): $157 - $459
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing