We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Hills

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Desert Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place with a pool and quiet. Well, were we pleasantly surprised. Owner Jim was super nice and our room 10 steps (yes I counted) from the pool. The place is a no kids - no pets place (I'm a fan) and right up against the mountains. The pool never closes (we were in it all the time) and did I say it was relaxingly quiet cause it was. Pool area has comfy floaty mats & noodles for major pool lounging. Much older folks staying here but all was good. This place is located about 5 blocks from the main Palm Canyon Rd. You have the use of their complimentary cruiser bikes to ride into town for whatever. Our room (Standard Studio Suite) had a kitchen with an eating area, a major cozy bed with a living room area too. This is our little oasis in the desert & we will be visiting again.........soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paigelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    15
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
waterseekr
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Desert Hills has a perfect location nestled up against the mountains with very nice views. A retro style one story hotel with all rooms facing the pool. I went to Palm Springs with my 3 girlfriends who are all over 35. I think we were still too young for this place because we were asked to "keep it down" by the manager during our game of spoons at 3 IN THE AFTERNOON. Really? We were not cussing or talking trash, just laughing and enjoying our card game. The other hotel guests were fine with us and told us to have a good time! So our new friends from Pasadena, Claremont, Washington, and Seal Beach joined us in the pool where everyone got loud!!!!

I would still recommend this hotel for the nice clean rooms, the great pool area, and the location (5 minute stroll to main strip). Just make sure you are prepared to be quiet. Do not come here to laugh and have too good of a time!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterseekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Warm sun, deep blue skies, swaying palms, humming birds, cool pool, fabulous accommodation, great service - the perfect recipe for a relaxing break! We have travelled extensively all over the world and were really impressed with this lovely little hotel. It's in a great setting, at the foot of the mountains but within walking distance of Palm Springs town centre (you can even borrow a hotel bike). The property is tastefully furnished and maintained to extremely high standards. The general 'vibe' is relaxed and low-key - no poseurs or party animals in sight! We originally booked to stay for 4 nights but loved it so much we stayed for 6. As an added bonus, we were upgraded to a gorgeous, spacious, two-bed suite. Many thanks to Manager, Jim, for making our stay so enjoyable. We will be back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbugbear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We chose the Desert Hills because of its location and it was ideal. Very quiet but only a short walk to downtown palm springs. Its in a beautiful setting by the mountains in a nice residential area near the tennis club.
The room we had was very large with a lounge area and kitchen, the bed was so comfortable - with that and the quietness we had some of the best sleep that we had during our 16 day tour of the West.
The gardens and pool area are very pretty and well kept, unfortunately you do loose the sun by about 3.30pm because you are so close to the mountains.
Also I agree with another tripadvisor who wrote that it would be helpful to know where the supermarkets are. We found one supermarket but it did not sell any fresh fruit/veg/meat etc..? A shame as there is two lovely grills by the pool to use.

Also when we were there the street lighting all the way down the road was not on- not sure why that was but did make it a bit difficult walking at nightime - might be a good idea to take a small torch with you.

Overall what was meant to be a 2 night stay ended up being a very relaxing 4 night stay !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Desert Hills over New Years Weekend! After having gone to Palm Springs MANY TIMES over the years, this is absolutely one of our Top Hotels! This hotel is extremely clean, modern retro and close to everything we love! While this was our first stay here I can assure you that it definitely will not be our last! BRAVO DESERT HILLS!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 km away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 km away
The Willows
The Willows
#13 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.1 km away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills

Property: Desert Hills
Address: 601 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6313
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): $157 - $459
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desert Hills, tucked up against the rugged San Jacinto Mountains is one of Palm Springs classic boutique hotels. Built in 1956, Desert Hills is situated in the historic district a few blocks from the shops, galleries and restaurants in the heart of Tennis Club District of old Palm Springs. The "quiet luxury" of Desert Hills retains the essence of classic old Palm Springs with rooms and suites reminiscent of the 1950's mid-century modern design. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing