We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hike! ”

Murray Canyon Trail
Ranked #19 of 93 things to do in Palm Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Indian Canyons, this trail passes some uniquely amazing desert vegetation, such as the yellow creosote flowers.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had SUCH a great time on this hike. It’s a beautiful hike along a stream with a bunch (seven?) of waterfalls. (Also called Seven Sisters). There are literal oasis, as the palm trees spring up along the water. So much fun.

Get there early. The line to get in/pay was long when we got to Agua Caliente Reservation. We waited at least 25 minutes just to get to the booth to pay. It’s worth it though!

A great hike with teens. It’s not ultra difficult, but bring water and be prepared to scrabble over some rocks, etc.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great hike"
in 15 reviews
"seven sisters"
in 6 reviews
"palm trees"
in 9 reviews
"criss crossing"
in 2 reviews
"spiritual place"
in 2 reviews
"pretty easy hike"
in 2 reviews
"elevation gain"
in 3 reviews
"bring lots of water"
in 3 reviews
"close to downtown"
in 2 reviews
"short hike"
in 3 reviews
"parking lot"
in 4 reviews
"agua caliente"
in 2 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 2 reviews
"stream"
in 24 reviews
"waterfall"
in 21 reviews
"rainfall"
in 3 reviews
"oasis"
in 9 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Just finished MCT trail today and water is running nicely.
Did not go right to seven sisters as the trail gets a little steep at the end for my wife legs. there is a nice smaller waterfall just before step section. cross teh creek and follow the sound of falling water. only a few hundred feet in. very nice

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank KBout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Take the time to go here...there is a reduced rate for seniors. If you go to the far end of the canyon to park it is a difficult walk down the hill to the canyons, take time and do it as once there it is beautiful !

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My wife and I are "senior citizens" and we LOVE to hike - not the easy, paved stuff but real hiking with rocky trails, sand, dirt and winding through varied flora and fauna. Murray Canyon Trail provided us with all of the above plus just a bit of "degree of difficulty" when criss-crossing streams on slippery rocks and scrambling across a large, sloped boulder to get from one end of the trail to the next. Great hike! You move through palm tree oases and experience an enjoyable variety of desert flowering bushes, trees and lizards! The total hike is just about 3 miles so not bad at all. Go around 9 a.m. to avoid crowds. We hiked early and had the place to ourselves and the natural denizens of nature, including a nice sized red-tailed hawk sitting on a boulder beside a stream.

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Murray Canyon Trail is a pleasant hike through interesting desert countryside that's close to civilization. It's surprising to find oneself in the great out of doors so near to the bustle of Palm Springs.

The hike meanders in the vicinity of a creek beside which large palm trees grow, Because of the number of times you cross the creek, we recommend using poles.

The payoff is a "waterfall" at the end that is, for most hikers, a disappointment. Assume that the hike itself is the reward.

There is one short steep, hard part on the way out.

You can add a bit of mileage and scenery by taking the Coffman Trail, an offshoot of the Murray Trail. We recommend it.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murray Canyon Trail also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Murray Canyon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing