We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Away from it All”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Carol and I escape to "A Place in the Sun" a couple times a year. We bring Rags, the shih-tzu, and have no worries or cares. Norma, Ron and Joe are gracious hosts, making sure we have goodies, movies, towels and tips on eateries (try El Mirasol for mexican food). The bungalows epitomize "retro living" from days past with the addition new age wi-fi. The large common courtyard with pool is perfect for lounging, reading a book, or chatting with fellow travelers.
Rags loves his private yard at the bungalow and his extensive dog walking option out the back gate by the riverside. Writing this makes me want to call Joe now for a reservation. Enjoy.
Winston Dean, San Diego

Room Tip: Bungalow with yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    39
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
89
171
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Because our usual haunt for the last ten years doesn't take pets, they recommended A Place in the Sun to us for travel with our feline companion. He let us know how traumatized he was by promptly holding down the floor over the cool tiles whenever possible, and enjoying the private little back yard. We walked him on his leash over the lovely grounds - he found the minigolf putting green very interesting. APITS has a lovely breakfast spread daily, an inviting pool and hot tub, lovely owners and housekeeping staff -- it was a gem. Smack in the center of the very desirable Deepwell area, close to all the action in any part of Palm Springs proper. Can't wait to stay again when we travel with His Nibs.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are wonderful. Let them know how many (and ages if youngsters) in your party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing getaway to Palm Springs and we couldnt have picked a more perfect place! We were upgraded to a one bedroom bungalow when we arrived- thank you Joe! The bungalow was spacious and clean, including the kitchen and bathroom. You can see the owners really take pride in keeping this place well maintained. Charming place - view of the mountains is calming. Only a 5 minute drive to downtown. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenl807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Seven members of our family stayed in the large bungalow which accommodated us all very well. We observed so many "extras" available to us in "our" bungalow and enjoyed every minute of our time there.

The grounds were immaculate and beautiful. The swimming pool, putting green and Jacuzzi, were appreciated by all of us, including our 6-year-old granddaughter.

We can't agree more with the many positive reviews already afforded A Place In the Sun and look forward to returning.

Roger & Jeanne

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Yes, the perfect place...if you appreciate lovely rooms, quiet ambiance, a wonderful staff...perfectly cared for pool and hot tub...and oh the view of the mountains, the birds, flowers, and the stars at night. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All are fine -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.8 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
1.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
1.5 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.5 km away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): $230 - $481
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline and lastminute.com.au so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing