We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I had some Interval points we needed to use. Since we were going to be in LA, we decided the Palm Springs area was it. We expected a typical "Time Share" venue but it was so much more. Our 2 BR unit was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. (although the furnishings were a bit dated ). Large balcony overlooked part of the golf course, water and mountains. Our building was not close to the pools but it was a nice walk for us. There were 2 large pools - one mainly for kids and one for adults, with first come first served cabanas. In addition there was a kiddie pool, a water slide with a small pool and a fountain to play in complete with water cannons. There were plenty of shaded areas in addition to the cabanas. ( It was in the 90's and sunny so shade was appreciated. There's a small store at the main building selling food, liquor and sundries - along with a fancy candy store. The Marriott location is great, seems close to everything. Many grocery stores, restaurants and a Costco are nearby. We were there in October and the on site restaurant was closed but there's a nice bar and lunch place by the pools with lots of shaded tables. They also have waitresses at the pools to take orders and deliver your food and drinks. All in all, we would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

680 - 684 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is our second visit to Marriott Shadow Ridge and we love it. We've stayed at other timeshares in Palm Desert-Westin Mission Hills, Marriott Desert Springs I as well as hotels like Hyatt Grand Champions, Renaissance, La Quinta etc. and Shadow Ridge is our favorite. We've stayed in a 1 br and 2 br and they're all spacious, clean and have great views of the golf course. The pools are great, especially the quiet pool with only adults but most of the time we have to go to kids pool with our kids. There is so much to do at the main pool-kids club with xbox, movies, snacks etc, snack bar with drinks/food and daily activities for everyone. I love how they have happy hour pretty much all day with good priced drinks/food. My only complaint is wish they had server by the pool. There is a putting green and 2 basketball courts. The golf course is challenging-very hilly with lots of sand traps and it is pricey but it's a beautiful course so if you're experienced-go for it. This is a great place for families, couples, singles, etc. and has something for everyone. The grounds are beautiful too. The only thing I didn't like is the timeshare sell when you're checking in-happens every time.

Room Tip: We always stay in room 2731 on the 2nd of 3 floor building-it's close to adult pool and main poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank carrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for a week as part of a Time Share trade, and were very happy with our condo. The master bedroom and bath were very upscale, and the kitchen/dining/living room was very open. There is everything you need for cooking and enjoying meals. Unfortunately, when we were there, the Nick Faldo-designed Golf Course was closed for over-seeding. But, like the professional way they always deal with their customers, we were allowed to make reservations and play at the JW Marriot Desert Springs Course for the same, very reasonable price. Awesome golf course!

Any issues that may arise during your stay are met and dealt with quickly and efficiently. An example of this was when we could not get the gas grill outside of our building to ignite, and the front desk immediately sent two gentlemen out to take care of this for us so we could enjoy our grilled meal that evening! You will be very happy if you get a chance to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main Pool Area. Much quieter and more parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTedBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of a timeshare promotion. The hotel room was nice, clean, equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. Only complaint was the thin walls. You could hear the conversations going on in the room next door. The timeshare presentation was 90 minutes and not a high pressure sales person. We might stay here again, however it was quite a ways from Palm Springs, where we ate all of our meals. Restaurants on the property, however no room service. It looked like a nice resort for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We went here a group of 5 & had a fantastic time apartment was excellent 3 pool areas 1 for kids 1 as a quiet pool & 1 pretty much child free the Chukawala bar does excellent bar meals & reasonably priced drinks as well & the staff were excellent & couldn't do enough for you . We also went to the Palm Springs street fair which is on Thursday evenings alsorts of stalls plenty of bars & restaurants along the way definitely worth a trip. We also did the Palm Springs Tramway it's a must but make sure you wear sensible footwear breathtaking views from up on the mountain & some beautiful walks to go on
The temperature was between 90 - 100 F for the 1st 2 weeks of October & the end of October the golf course opens presumably because its too hot during the summer which gets up around 140F so I'm told
All in all we had a fab time no complaints at all

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank DerbyScoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
2.3 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.2 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
964 reviews
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.2 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.7 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $170 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages Palm Desert, California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing