We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but interesting zoo in the desert”

Living Desert Zoo & Gardens
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
USD 19.95*
and up
Palm Springs General Admission to The Living Desert
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The botanical gardens of this park offer great opportunities to see desert vegetation.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small but interesting zoo in the desert”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We have visited this zoo just south of Palm Desert CA several times and decided to go again this year as it was a cool day. Zoo has basically tow parts to it - 1) Africa and 2) North America. Animals typical for the regions are housed in each section. Park (zoo) is relatively small which is good for HOT days and it can get very hot so go early and take lots of water. You can pay an extra $6 per person and hop on and off small trolly cars to get around the park but we chose to walk. Besides animals there are several botanical gardens at the zoo. Great place for kids and adults.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    549
    159
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

It was a beautiful place to spend an afternoon. We sent several times as there is a lot of walking if you want to see everything. There is a train but we wanted to walk so we didn't miss any of this fantastic place

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmacor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
740 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable place to go”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I really really enjoyed being here even though it was SUPER hot. However, there are lots of H2O fountains. It's set up really well.

The diversity of cacti is spectacular as well as the way it is set up. It is not every day you get to see all desert animals AND in a desert setting. This is a place I'd go back to again. It was worth the price of admission for sure.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Animal show - fun and surprising”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Animal show was fun and surprising. Nicely labeled plants. Good exhibits of bighorn sheep, wolves, antelopes, etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank KALLCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good way to spend the day.”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Living Desert is an interesting mixture of Zoo and Gardens. The garden trails take one to different types of gardens; desert, tropical, shady, cactus to name a few. Plaques along the trails give information on the plants and also what they were used for by native peoples. The zoo part of the Living Desert has a limited number of animals but enough to be interesting. The enclosures for the animals are clean and varied to keep them content. The first time I visited with my daughter we were there for most of the day. There are also hikes from the Living Desert that take you out into the desert or to where you can see evidence the the San Andreas fault. There is also an awesome model train setup!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank okie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Living Desert Zoo & Gardens also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Living Desert Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing