We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overview of Joshua Tree N.P.”

Desert Adventures Red Jeep Tours & Events
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 135.00*
and up
San Andreas Fault Small-Group Jeep Tour from Palm Springs
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Desert Adventures is the desert's premier eco-tour and outdoor adventure company, offering unique and memorable excursions to the San Andreas Fault and beyond. We are the only adventure company with access to 800+ acres of pristine, private property filled with interactive displays and exhibits to enhance your experience. We also offer numerous group activities, team-building programs, and events. Life is an adventure...Make it a Desert Adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great overview of Joshua Tree N.P.”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have a yearly reunion with a couple who were in our wedding 36 years ago. They wanted to see Palm Springs again and he found the Red Jeep experience through the JW Marriott properties. We had the enclosed Toyota Sequoia option and it was a good thing as the weather had turned windy and cold. Our guide was wonderfully knowledgeable and was able to fill in many of the area's historical episodes including the General Patton training area that really did not pertain to the Joshua Tree part of the trip, just the trip to get there. From a thorough understanding of the local plants and wildlife to having been over much of the country on his own, "Mr. Bill" ably demonstrated the use of various plants by the original inhabitants and showed us the historical background of the area from mining to more modern projects such as aqueducts. The real advantage to this trip was the ability to tailor the route to conditions. We were told we were avoiding the worst of the wind and having a chance to see the area. As we returned to Palm Desert, the clouds of blowing dust showed us how competent Bill was in his selection of route. This tour takes what looks like a barren landscape and Highly recommended;m animates Joshua Tree from the Indian inhabitants to the modern day. Do heed their weather commentary as it does change due to elevation.
The information provided was very accurate and helpful in promoting a good experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    36
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Informative Tour”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Made arrangements to have Red-Jeep pick us up at our hotel and looked forward to our tour. Began the day with a short history lesson on the area that segued into the floral and fauna, wildlife population, and the geology of the surrounding countryside.

The Cahuilla Indian Village exhibit was interesting as well as the Old Mining Camp where I tried my hand at gold panning. Can't imagine having to pan for gold as my "day job" as it would be rather discouraging! But by far the most interesting was the climb into a fissure that separated a mountain during a past earthquake... Rather unnerving to realize the ground has the ability to "move mountains"!

I have never encountered a more informative guide than Eric who we were lucky to have. And on top of his knowledge base, he was just an everyday, all around nice guy!

If we were to ever be stuck in the desert, we hope that Eric would be the guide as I'm sure he would be the only way we'd survive. Thanks for the tour!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cdspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you have only one day, do this.”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Took the San Andreas Fault tour because it touches on everything. We frequently got to get out of the jeep and see things. Our guide was very well informed and enjoyed what he did.
You learn a lot about geology and the history of the area. Get off the highway and experience the desert.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyboyCaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly, informative guide”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our first time in Joshua Tree National Park was interesting and easily accommodated by this tour company and guide, Mitch Cazier. He obviously knows the Park very well and was able to point out details/answer questions clearly. On time and comfortable travel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bobmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Indian Canyons Tour and Painted Canyons Tour with Desert Adventure (Red-Jeep Tour)”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I was at Orange county for business and plan on spending the weekend at the Palm Spring area. I signed up a couple of tours with Desert Adventure; this is one of a few company which wiill take solo traveller. Wendy is so nice to help me to coordinate my weekend itinerary. Jimmy was my tour guide for the Indian Canyons (3 hrs) and the Painted Canyons tour (4 hrs). He has a wealth of experience and deep knowledge from geology to history. My favorite part is the hike at the Andreas Canyon (a gem in the Indian Canyon). This is an easy 1 mile trial. You will see different rock formation, lush wild palms, breathtaking mountain-top view .... I enjoy both tours; they are different and very unique. I will definitely return again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DDC_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desert Adventures Red Jeep Tours & Events also viewed

 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Desert Adventures Red Jeep Tours & Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing