We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Basic Room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Butterfly Grove Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Coto de Caza, Ca
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Location Basic Room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Had a large room with 2 queen beds.

Only problem was many ants in the bathroom and on the sink as well as a few on the beds.
Owner said there was nothing he could do because Pacific Grove is in an "Ant corridor".

I would not stay here again as there are other hotels in the same location that have nice rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimOCotodeCaza_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    155
    62
    32
    15
See reviews for
140
160
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, WA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great value. Large rooms. Not at all fancy or pretentious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Very cozy with a spacious room that had a fireplace. A great location behind the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary and very close to downtown and the beach. A great value in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent one night here recently on our road trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles, at a time when a major golf tournament was on at Pebble Beach and accommodation was scarce in the nearby area. This is not luxurious accommodation, but the room was very spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent, with lots of hot water and very good water pressure. The windows open (I can't stand hotels with non-opening windows!). My only complaint is that the breakfast offering was rather ordinary. However, a pit-stop at the Big Sur Bakery later in the morning banished bad breakfast memories from our minds!

A plus was that we were in Pacific Grove during Monarch butterfly migration season and telescopes were set up in the area outside our room when we arrived. We got to see and learn about the butterflies from the volunteers in attendance, which was great! Overall, we were very happy with our room and with the fact that we elected to stay in Pacific Grove rather than in Monterey.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is by far one of the most peaceful, restful places I have EVER had the pleasure to stay. Their housekeeping staff has ALWAYS been attentive to every detail to assure your stay is comfortable. The owners are gracious. The continental breakfast is simple, but sufficient to give you the kick start you need to your busy day. The Butterfly Grove sits directly behind the Inn and is a wonderful place to wander in the morning before you set off on your many other excursions that await you during your visit. Recently the Butterfly Grove has been totally relandscaped and new planter boxes have replaced the old Meeting Hall and planted up with beautifully flowering plants that the Monarchs find very succulent. The Monarchs were EVERYWHERE this year! The deer wander freely throughout the area as well. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND The Butterfly Grove Inn to anyone who enjoys the peaceful, quiet and serenity of a Beach Resort.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at The Butterfly Grove Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cemoosemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.5 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 km away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Property: Butterfly Grove Inn
Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2357
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price range (per night): $161 - $570
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing