We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 194
View deal
Booking.com
USD 216
View deal
Hurb
USD 168
View deal
PricelineUSD 216
Hotels.comUSD 194
FindHotelUSD 194
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
347
189
74
57
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
189
74
57
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews village at squaw valley high camp underground parking fireside pizza bedroom suite tahoe city ski resort lift tickets ski season hot tub condo snow fireplace winter den units tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2020

This was a great base for our time in Lake Tahoe area. The village is nice (though a lot is currently closed). The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, though our room was not as good as we were expecting.
We booked the 1 bedroom with den. It is a big space, which is nice, however, I feel ours was lacking. We were on the second floor and our balcony was very boxed in (presumably for privacy) but it wasn't pleasant to sit out on which was a shame! Plus, it looked like the dumpsters were below us and there was a smell that could only have come from them. A higher floor would have been nicer.
The inside was a little dated and needed some repairs. The balcony door did not lock at all, the wooden blinds were broken in parts and the kitchen had old appliances. This was a disappointment because the few pictures we found for this room type were far nicer with newer appliances so we were expecting better.
It was also tricky getting new towels due to the housekeeping modifications (due to covid). We were told to exchange in person (housekeeping would bring to our door). We waited for ages and after over an hour, gave up and went about our day. It was tough getting toiletries and getting rid of trash etc also.
If it is possible to book a more renovated, higher floor unit, I would perhaps return, but I wouldn't come back and stay in what we had.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kanteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ Rufo, Other at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

We are happy to see you had a nice trip, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay and bring these to our attention. Our maintenance team is on it. In the future, please feel free to call to book your reservation. Our reservation agents can help you find a room that will best suit your needs. We hope for a chance to welcome you back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay. Be warned though, when it’s unseasonably warm in Tahoe, you will not be comfy with the temp in your room. They only have portable A/C units and they cannot cool adequately. With windows open at night, it gets comfy around midnight. Gabe (manager) was wonderful & let us try a different condo for our 2nd night. It was better but still warm for our taste. The view from the balcony was great (4th floor of building 4). The Village has good dining options, delish pizza! The bike trail to Tahoe City was excellent. If you don’t have your own bikes, there’s a place to rent them right before you enter the Village on your right. It’s about a 16 mile round trip & you can get lunch in Tahoe City. Due to Covid, the pool & hot tubs on site are closed. Within the Village, people did a great job with social distancing and mask usage. All dining options were spaced apart and outdoors so it felt safe! There’s also a little grocery store and liquor store on site. I will return to this location but would probably delay until the fall next time.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank karenlee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ Rufo, Other at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, it sounds like it was a fun trip. It is nice to see you got ahold of Gabe to see if he could move you to a cooler room. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2020

We really enjoyed our time at The Village. The one bedroom was roomy enough for four people as the pull out couch was a queen size bed. We had to ask for housekeeping to take out the trash each day even though it was stated they would come in everyday to change towels, take out trash and make the bed. That did not happen. We saved some money in food, thanks to the kitchen in the room as kids can eat a lot and it adds up quick. Wish there were more planned activities but maybe we just came during an off peak season. Trams and access to high camp were cut off by 4pm each day. We appreciated the free parking under the building rather than leaving the car out each day or hunting for a spot during the weekends. Overall it was a great place to stay, lots to do and walk around the resort without having to drive each day.

Room tip: We had a room at the end of the hall. Was very grateful as people moving around with ski gear can be very noisy.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IldenDilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJ Rufo, Other at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2020

We really enjoyed having you stay with us! It looks as though you stayed with us around the beginning of February, a very busy time for us, please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with housekeeping. You are correct our upper mountain operations do close around 4 every day. We look hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020 via mobile

This unit was small, hot (thermostat didn't work or perhaps they put it there for show, etc.), uncomfortable, overpriced. Paid alot and was disappointed. Check in by AirBnB was a mess, very disorganized. Never again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank K8324FCdavido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djrufo, Lodging Coordinator at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2020

Thank you for letting us know. I can see you rented through an airbnb, which we do not manage. They do not use our services, and this is a common complaint from airbnb listings. In the future, we invite you to book directly with us, ensuring a great visit. Booking directly will make for a smoother check-in/out process, park passes, wifi password, phones, and general maintenance and housekeeping. We hope for a chance to welcome you to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Squaw is obviously a great mountain, but this complex has seen better days. In unit 233 the chandelier that belongs over the kitchen table is in the wrong place, so you constantly hit your head. There is almost no cook ware, and the coffee maker is broken. The handle for the shower is about to fall off, and most of the inside doors don't close properly. The light bulbs are all ancient CFLs that have faded over the years until they give off almost no light. The dishwasher is filled with unused detergent, apparently its not really washing dishes.

The toilets sounded like a jet taking off, high water pressure I guess, not great when your partner is sleeping but I'm no plumber so I don't know if there's anything to do about that.

Things that were ok: the scene outside was lively but ended at 9pm when the restaurants closed, so not a problem. The in floor heating is nice and kept the humidity levels decent. The two bedroom suite is spacious, the linen and pillows were good, and the hot tub was fine.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ddssff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djrufo, Lodging Coordinator at The Village At Squaw Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave a detailed review of your stay. We will be working with our maintenance team to resolve all of these issues. In the future, please dont let these things ruin your stay, give the front desk a call and they will send maintenance up to resolve said issue. We hope for the chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews