We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Will Not Go Back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge at Point Reyes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge at Point Reyes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will Not Go Back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We got a room facing the main street and it was noisy - you could hear cars and traffic driving through. Lodge is on the main drag. View in the back was nice with lovely yard. First manager was really nice, but second/nightshift manager was rude. No TVs in the room - the only TV was in the game room downstairs and it is very small and old. I like to relax by watching non-sense TV for 1/2 hr or so. Served cookies and tea at night. There is no seashore to look at. There are a couple of restaurants close by - right next door and a short 5 - 7 minute drive. I wouldn't walk - there's no sidewalk. Only an hour from San Francisco - more of a day trip than an overnight.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cfrie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    20
    17
    10
See reviews for
37
118
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I liked this place, even though prior to arrival I thought we'd see the Pacific Ocean from our room...haha....(hence the name--wrong). It's not on the seashore....not real close either, but that's *my* bad. After we checked in and explored around, it didn't matter. It's just lovely inside and out. The desk was so helpful and informative about the Park. It was obvious the managers cared about details. The public areas were warm and well decorated. We ate both nights at the restaurant next door, which was excellent. (Farm House-get the oysters..OMG!) Everything was in full bloom in the garden behind the lodge....just stunningly beautiful, with a creek as well. The drive to the Park is short, so in that respect, the lodge is convenient. We discovered that 2 nights is not enough to fully explore the Park if you want to hit the major trails and attractions. This was the highlight of our week-long trip to Marin and Sonoma counties.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stumbled upon this place purely by accident as the Olema Inn (recommended in the otherwise excellent Fodor's Guide) had gone out of business 2 months previously. We turned up without reservation and were met by Jeff on reception who was incredibly friendly and welcoming and put us up in the Audubon Suite - it's well worth asking about availability as they have some great deals on offer for those who turn up on spec. He also gave some great advice about recommended walks in the surrounding area. The room was a split level duplex with a living area complete with fireplace (possibly essential in winter but unnecessary in sweltering June), and a great view of the surrounding from the balcony. The real selling point of the room however was the two-person jacuzzi tub - which managed to be both great fun and very relaxing. The room was clean, the bedding comfortable and although there was no air-con when the sun went down the room was cool enough with the window open. Gadget freaks beware this is not a high tech place although the Wifi (I really do love my wifi) was free and reliable, and although the room had no TV, there was a stereo for added romance. Breakfast was a mixture of cereals, fresh fruit and pastries so was good without being amazing. The restaurant next door is well worth a visit as my girlfriend's clam linguine was superb and the steak I had was cooked to perfection and gigantic. Point Reyes is a stunningly beautiful piece of coastline with huge forests giving way to a starkly beautiful coastline. Amazingly when we went (in June) it was also virtually deserted and we were both at a loss as to why. A great hotel with a fabulous hosts and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the Audubon Suite and check out the two-person tub! You won't regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was our second stay at the Seashore Lodge, and so we decided to treat ourselves to the Sir Francis Drake suite. It is very roomy and has a stunning view out over a nice little coastal valley. It is two story with a large sitting area, wet bar w/frig, wood fireplace and bathroom with jacuzzi style tub downstairs, and upstairs has a four poster bed with a good amount of closet space. Last year we stayed at one of the suites and although it was smaller, we enjoyed that it had a balcony, which the Drake suite does not.

If you are unsure on your feet, I would not advise any of the suites since the bedrooms are upstairs and bathrooms are downstairs. The stairs are steep, and negotiating them in the middle of the night is tricky even when you are sure-footed.

Waking up to the sounds of so many birds is a nice relaxing treat, and if you are staying in any of the three suites, your choice of breakfast items are brought to your room. Room service at no extra charge!

My reservation process was a delightful experience thanks to Lynn. She is so personable and helpful. I wish she had been here for our check-in; Denise was on the desk when we arrived, and her demeanor could use some polishing. She seemed to get defensive when we questioned some issues, and it made us quite uncomfortable. Jeff was very helpful and even offered to carry my mother's bag up the stairs; I remembered him from our last stay, and he too is an asset to the Lodge!

The rooms could use a bit of updating...the hotel was built in 1988 and the decor still reflects that era. The beds should also be replaced with much more comfortable mattresses. They were not uncomfortable, but nowadays, some hotels recognize the importance of this and seek to make the bed a very pleasurable experience. The hotel owners might want to consider this for all of the suites at least!

Overall, our stay was a pleasurable one, and I am sure we will be back again.

Room Tip: The two suites adjoining the Francis Drake rooms are the best, but not if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoungeLizard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had the Sir Frances Drake Room. The view was wonderful, the trail through the meadow
was very pleasant. We saw several deer just after we entered the path. The Farmhouse
served wonderful surprises. The oysters were great. We travel to California every year.
We returned to Half Moon Bay this year. Next year will be the Point Reyes Seashore Lodge.
Jeff was very Helpful and we appreciate his kindness and attention.

Room Tip: There wasn't a pool but a inviting cool stream and fitness center was not needed as the hiking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winslett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
25.0 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
37.5 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
34.6 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
33.9 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
34.4 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Point Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Point Reyes

Property: The Lodge at Point Reyes
Address: 10021 Coastal Highway One, PO Box 39, Olema, CA 94950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olema
Price range (per night): $252 - $346
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Point Reyes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjoining the Point Reyes National Park, the Point Reyes Seashore Lodge is designed to feel like a private country estate with all of the amenities of a modern inn. Featuring 22 rooms and 2 cottages, all rooms are private and many have Jacuzzi tubs or fireplaces. Complimentary WiFi. Onsite restaurant (featuring local oysters), historic bar and deli. Close to San Francisco and Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Point Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Reyes Seashore Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing