We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
239
33
9
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
239
33
9
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas lavender room private garden gourmet breakfast unique shops bed and breakfast back porch b bs crackers farmers market wine and cheese hour home away from home within easy walking distance each evening shelf road granola perfect location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I can't tell you how wonderful the Lavender Inn is. For starters, the Inn is absolutely picturesque with incredible attention to detail. The history of the building and the subsequent owners is a story in and of itself. The landscaping is gorgeous and you can easily spend your time listening to the water fountains or sipping coffee or wine and pondering why can't life be this good all the time. The food is great and the staff is more than skilled and competent. They're warm and very personable. They make it look so easy. Do I recommend the Lavender Inn? Yes and my wife and I can't wait to come back.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marbleharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Overall, we recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced relaxing stay, especially if you want somewhere that accepts dogs.
Room was lovely, even if not perfect. Handle to closet door, lampshade, & dvd player were broken, but hopefully by now they are fixed.
Location was great. Across the street is a good health food store and nearby are many restaurants, wine tasting, and shopping, as well as hiking and other outdoor activities. They are steps away from lovely Sunday morning farmer’s market.
Food was good – nice breakfast and afternoon wine/cheese/appetizers.
We stayed 3 nights: 2 out of 3 staff people were wonderful, very kind to us and our dogs, offered great suggestions for activities. One employee was cranky & stingy with food service.
Great back yard where we were able to dine with our dogs.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavenderinn, Innkeeper at The Lavender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2009

We are very dog friendly and enjoy that guests can bring 'family members' here.
Occasionally some things get damaged with use. We thank all guests that bring such things to our attention. The items listed on this review have since been fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Great destination. Rooms are very clean and comfortable and of amazing value. The staff are incredible and the food is fantastic! Nice big yard that is safe, beautiful and serene. A++++++++++ We will definately stay again. Thank-you Lavender Inn!

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygolucky85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

When we entered the Lavender room's small bathroom, we were surprised and disgusted to find fecal matter in the toilet and the trash can half full. That was just the beginning of the adventure! Reaching up under the lamp shade of the floor lamp to turn it on, I was shocked to discover 2 of the 3 live outlets were missing bulbs - DANGEROUS but one way to save on electricity costs. The tiny room was cramped - no fan (no even in the bathroom) - no thermostat to turn on the air conditioning - and no screen on the back door, so when we tried to air the room bugs began flying in. Breakfast was certainly done on a budget with little that appealed - least of which was the under-cooked-egg-casserole. The health department will find out about this place!! Like I said - look no further - RUNAWAY.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fab34me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The town of Ojai is a nice place to visit during the music festival, but rather quiet and dull any other time. Nevertheless I thought that staying at the Lavender Inn in Ojai would be a relaxing stop on a mixed business / pleasure trip. The Inn receives high ratings that are, after staying there, incomprehensible. One expects three basic things from a B&B or Inn:
1. A clean room, 2. Pleasant owners, 3. Good breakfast (sometimes not included with Inns). Lavender Inn disappoints on all three counts.
(1): Our room was cramped, dirty, and poorly equipped. In particular, the bathroom hadn't been cleaned since the previous guests. Light bulbs were missing from lamps. A ventilation louver was in the room, but air never came out of it and that made sleeping difficult.
(2): The owner never showed himself / herself, leaving duties to a cranky manager who demurred to the invisible owner when complaints were voiced.
(3): Coffee and unidentifiable egg-based slop are offered for breakfast. Fortunately, there is a nice whole foods market across the street where one can forage for food with some confidence that one will not depart with a gastric bug.
The only positive note is that if you're around at 6PM, wine and cheese is set out. For me, the minor mood enhancement provided by a glass of wine does not erase the feeling of having been had ... snookered, robbed, tricked ... by an Inn that seems to be coasting on a reputation that they (perhaps) had in the past. How else can they get away with charging their exorbitant prices?

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrasticTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews