We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
726
243
40
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
243
40
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne marie san francisco separate tub and shower beautiful hotel water view walking path oakland estuary quinn's lighthouse bay view free parking jack london square shuttle service best westerns highly recommend this hotel hot items nice breakfast room was large
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, comfortable room. The staff was very friendly, as was able to answer all my questions about where to go for dinner. Check in & out was quick. Water view room, huge plus. I took the attached photo from my room.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank threefrenchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Three,

Thank you for your great review and for the picture. (I'll look after this) We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Big clean room with very comfy beds. Big clean shower and bathroom. Self serve tea/coffee/hot chocolate facility in foyer was a bonus. Generous breakfast with enough choices. Close to lots of eateries in Alameda and about a 15-20 minute drive to San Fransisco depending on traffic of course. Would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mary63sir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mary,

Thank you for your review. You know sometimes 4 stars are actually better than 5 stars. You made a conscience decision to award us 4 stars when you know some people just mark 5 because it's simpler. We appreciate your rating and will work harder to gain that 5th star on your return visit.

Also, try BARTing to San Francisco and let our complimentary shuttle take you to the Lake Merritt station. 12 minutes later you're in downtown SF and you don't have to worry about parking your car. Very walkable city!

Thank you for your time and we look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed at this hotel on a girls trip. It was perfect for us! The room was gigantic and accommodated all of our girl stuff! The beds were comfortable, the couch was accommodating, the balcony was big enough for us and the view of the downtown SF skyline was awesome! The room was right on the waters of the bay and we got to watch the rowing crews practice in the morning. The hotel breakfast was good. It was well rounded with proteins/carbs. The hotel felt very safe with all areas requiring room key to access. The lobby was bright and spacious. I can't imagine needing to pay overpriced hotels in downtown SF when this hotel was reasonable and just an Uber ride away.

Room tip: The second floor has great views of downtown SF!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tava R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Tava,

Thank you for your great review. We totally agree!

Next time when you stay in Oakland, Party in Oakland. Let our concierge front desk staff help you learn more about the great boutique shopping and fantastic restaurant Oakland has to offer. At the same time SF is great too, and our shuttle service will take you to BART and then you're only a 12 minute ride to Downtown SF.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

My room faced the Coast-Guard station, with the waterway (estuary) in between. This is very pleasant (although half the rooms face the other way, towards a freeway, so you must hope to avoid those).

There’s a splendid walkway along the water. Sunrise from my balcony is pretty— see my photo. At 8 AM on a Friday you hear a bugle call from the Coast Guard, while at 8 AM on a Saturday you hear the coach for a rowing team, telling the boats to line up — see my photo.

My only complaint: there’s no way to plug in a phone to charge by my bed — the lamp and alarm clock lack power outlets or USB ports— you can only charge on the desk.

TripAdvisor actually had the best rate for this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 514JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear John

Thank you for your review. I hate to disagree, but ALWAYS book direct with the hotel you're staying at. Would you buy a car from postman, or a house from the butcher? People who run hotels know their hotels best and building a relationship with your favorite hotel in a city always is a good things.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to enjoy our waterside rooms. The truth is we only have about 14 double bedded rooms on the City side, and just like all city hotels you can hear city noise. We're just incredibly luck to be able to feature water side rooms as a majority of our guest rooms.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We stayed here one night for a concert, 15 min Lyft drive to the Oracle Arena, btw I do not recommend taking uber or lyft to concerts, just drive and pay the 40 parking. Trying to get a lyft at the end of the concert was a nightmare. Back to the hotel. The hotel was clean nice view. The bed was pretty stiff, the tv did not work, it would not change channels, and our room 307 had stinky funky smell to it, I didnt ask to change rooms because we werent gonna stay there for long and the smell wasnt too strong but still there. Breakfast was ok for it to be free, cant complain. They also had juice and coffee and tea 24hrs a day. I would recommend this hotel, just make sure it doesnt stink and the tv works.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Celeste1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHochstatter, General Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Coastal,

You're correct that driving is ultimately the best way to get to a concert. Many of our customers have our shuttle take them to the Lake Merritt BART station and then take the BART to the concert, game or event.

Regarding the smell, we have recently renovated so our carpet, wallpaper and furnishings are all new and sometimes there can be the New Room smell. Anyhow, we look forward to your return.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews