We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Savor Oakland Food Tours - CLOSED
Review Highlights
A great food tour experience!

The Oakland Chinatown tour was just what a returning Oakland native needed....having lived and... read more

Reviewed 22 May 2016
KRISANDBILL
,
Alameda, California
Delicious, Fun and Informative

This tour exceeded our expectations. We tried a variety of foods with generous portions while... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2015
agorda66
,
Oakland, California
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
33
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
7
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went on the Jack London tour with the Yelp's 10 year anniversary half off deal. There was about 16 people on the tour. I learned some interesting historical facts about the area. We visited some historical sites on the tour. We also got to visit the lOAKal art gallery and Oakland Supply Co. The gallery had interesting artwork and the supply store had many interesting things that were all made in america.

We made stops at Home of Chicken and Waffles, Blue Bottle Coffee, Authentic Bagel Company, Rossenblum Cellars, Baia Pasta, Forge, Bocanova, and Miette. There was a good amount of samples from each location and everything was very tasty.

I want to try the Chinatown tour sometime.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a lovely way to spend Sunday.....
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience with our guide Geneva taking us not only to great foodie spots but also telling us Oakland history. And giving us a peak at the arts scene at Loakal gallery and shop.
The range of tasting is varied - from pizza and bagels to wine, coffee, macarons and more!
A highlight was to hear a talk by pasta maker Dario in his small production room at Baia as we had read about the company at home (Australia) in "Feast" magazine.
We recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing small local producers - while having a very social time!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank rozalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Took this food tour AGAIN, this time with the family (kids 21 and 18 yrs old) after doing it with two girlfriends the first go around. Excellent combination of food choices and eating establishments. Worth the time and fee. Bonus that the JLS Farmer's Market was going on at the end of the tour to grab some last minute goodies. Park in the garage across from starting point for validation.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I took some clients today on this tour and it was just fantastic. Carlo the tour guide was very accommodating with advance prep. The tour itself was seamless. We arrived, everything was ready for us, we sat and ate and then left.... no sitting around and waiting (well except for the trains - gotta love the trains in Oakland). The restaurants and wineries we visited were all top notch. An overall terrific client event.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Leila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've been on food tours before and this one is among the best because not only is the food provided scrumptious and generous and we're informed about the food, ingredients, venue, etc. but because we also got to walk about Jack London Square and learn about the history of this area, along with a great historical understanding of Oakland itself. We took 3.5 hours and never felt rushed, and also never felt so stuffed that we couldn't enjoy what was still to come. Good for locals and great for visitors to the area.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews