We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Oakland”
Review of Savor Oakland Food Tours - CLOSED

Savor Oakland Food Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Savor Oakland Food Tours, LLC provides walking food and culture tours of The City of Oakland. We are the first Oakland tour business to combine food, culture, and history in one walking tour. We give an amazing snapshot of Oakland food culture and history. Come join us and savor a taste of Oakland soul!
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a lovely way to spend Sunday.....
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience with our guide Geneva taking us not only to great foodie spots but also telling us Oakland history. And giving us a peak at the arts scene at Loakal gallery and shop.
The range of tasting is varied - from pizza and bagels to wine, coffee, macarons and more!
A highlight was to hear a talk by pasta maker Dario in his small production room at Baia as we had read about the company at home (Australia) in "Feast" magazine.
We recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing small local producers - while having a very social time!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank rozalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Took this food tour AGAIN, this time with the family (kids 21 and 18 yrs old) after doing it with two girlfriends the first go around. Excellent combination of food choices and eating establishments. Worth the time and fee. Bonus that the JLS Farmer's Market was going on at the end of the tour to grab some last minute goodies. Park in the garage across from starting point for validation.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank sansregret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I took some clients today on this tour and it was just fantastic. Carlo the tour guide was very accommodating with advance prep. The tour itself was seamless. We arrived, everything was ready for us, we sat and ate and then left.... no sitting around and waiting (well except for the trains - gotta love the trains in Oakland). The restaurants and wineries we visited were all top notch. An overall terrific client event.

Date of experience: June 2014
1  Thank Leila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've been on food tours before and this one is among the best because not only is the food provided scrumptious and generous and we're informed about the food, ingredients, venue, etc. but because we also got to walk about Jack London Square and learn about the history of this area, along with a great historical understanding of Oakland itself. We took 3.5 hours and never felt rushed, and also never felt so stuffed that we couldn't enjoy what was still to come. Good for locals and great for visitors to the area.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The tour was more fun than I initially thought it would be - we saw places we would have missed on our own. Carlo was great - funny and knowledgable with many interesting facts about the area. Highly recommended

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savor Oakland Food Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing