We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, bad hotel”
Review of Balboa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Balboa Inn
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice staff, bad hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The staff is terrific, however they cannot compensate for a noisy, shabby and archaic hotel. Yes it is near the beach. Not good enough, for 180 bucks a night, I expect more than torn lampshades, backed up plumbing and a constant stream of NOISE! Our room was adjacent to the stairs and the upstairs patio dining, which was the place of a wedding. No warning, nothing. I called the front desk and complained about the noise at 2 m and they offered to move us, but really? Move or shut up the people who are so inconsiderate.
Best bet- pay less, stay further away and sleep well.

Room Tip: rooms on the side away from the upstairs patio preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    37
    51
    91
See reviews for
63
103
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I'd stay again as now I know which room to book.
This is actually two hotels, two buildings, one old, one new that's water front. The old is run down and it wouldn't take much to spruce it up, but I guess they've spent their money on building the new part. The old rooms are large, large bathrooms too, they have refrigerators and carpet. Be careful of rooms facing the street because of the bar, or overlooking the restaurant in the rear, however the restaurant closes at 10PM.
The beds are all new throughout the hotel (I saw 7 rooms), but I found them too soft--they are pillow top top and bottom, I turned mine, but they are just too thick, so you sink.
I didn't really like the new part, it is ocean front, rooms very modern, cold tile floors, I thought I'd hear the ocean but couldn't, there's A/C equipment outside the lower rooms that is noisy. There are zillions of flies out front here for some reason, so it's hard to have the door or window open.
This is a great party hotel, but not great for quiet, however I loved the location, walk everywhere, take the ferry to Balboa Island....so if you bring sleeping pills it's terrific!
I'd recommend waiting to book until you are there as they will lower the price and you can pick a room.
We parked our car on the street and it was run into.....parking at $25. a night is way high, but they'll come down to $18.
Breakfast was bare bones (bagels, cold cereal, toast & apples, oranges) and not presented well, no one around to help, old metal tables, floor was a mess, hey, the orange juice was great though!

Room Tip: 301 best room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinggirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We are a family of two adults and two teens, booking a family room ( two rooms connected by a hallway)
NIGHT: Do not be fooled by the pictures on the website, the family room was in the original part of the hotel which would have been fine if they took any pride! The rooms could have been "Quaint" instead of "Run Down" they painted over the wallpaper in the bathroom, the bathtub was cracked (at the top no leakage), one straight back chair, there was no air (fine... beach hotel) but the windows had no screens, the portable fan looked like a carry-over from the 50's ( nervous to use it but disparate for relief), the view was of a brick wall/alley with skate boarders & loud talkers and the room was above the restaurant kitchen, It was loud, hot and miserable....
DAY: We moved on the second night ( for extra $$$) to the new section of the hotel WOW! We had a view of the ocean, a/c, beautiful bathroom, robes, giant flat screen t.v., huge king size beds, connecting rooms and the list goes on....
Really Balboa Inn, spend a fraction on improvements and your hotel would be charming!

P.S. Valet parking was $45.00 per night

Room Tip: Book rooms in the new section, 3rd floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorihas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights. Such a convenient location & a nice, bright airy room with a great big soaking tub & a cute little balcony with an ocean view. But, we got almost no sleep! There is a bar nearby that's open till early in the morning. I don't think it quieted down till about 2:30 or 3. Drunk people shouting & banging on things.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Searched for an hour to find parking for a wedding my husband and I were attending. There valet parking was full, beach parking, full... metered parking... full!!! I called the lady at the front desk 5 times!!! How can you have a wedding at your Hotel if you dont have parking for your guests??? Once we finally arrived to the wedding and had to stand in the back, the hotel allowed wet guest in their swim suits run back and forth the wedding aisle to get to their rooms!!! The bar had 1 bar tender for over 140 people, the staff was totally confused and had no direction. Beware!!! DO NOT use this place for your wedding!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.4 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
569 reviews
2.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,450 reviews
2.9 km away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.1 km away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
967 reviews
5.2 km away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balboa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balboa Inn

Property: Balboa Inn
Address: 105 Main St, Newport Beach, CA 92661-1397
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price range (per night): $294 - $594
Hotel Class:3 star — Balboa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Balboa Inn, in Newport Beach, Orange County, is a place where casual beachside ambiance and classic Old World charm combine in a historic landmark that’s lured Southern California's rich and famous for decades. Set on the colorful boardwalk at the foot of the Balboa Pier, this oceanfront establishment’s relaxed air may have you kicking off your high heels before you stroll down the aisle. Built in 1929, this upscale Orange County inn has entertained such notables as Howard Hughes, Barry Goldwater and a host of other politicians, entertainers and honeymooners. Once owned by the Los Angeles Lakers’ Kareem Abdul Jabbar, its nine-foot ceilings still bear a telltale sign of the basketball star. A recent $6-million addition features two oceanview terraces, a new oceanview Italian tile sundeck with hot tub, 34 upgraded rooms, 11 top-of-the-line suites and convenient subterranean valet parking. Guests enter the Inn through the Mediterranean-style courtyard, a natural space for pre-ceremony mingling. With its original tile, adobe walls, potted palms, bar and the soothing sound of surf crashing in the background, the space is a comfortable area for people to come together. Meanwhile, you, your groom and all your attendants have full use of an oceanview honeymoon suite with a Jacuzzi and fireplace. For the wedding ceremony itself, options include the hotel’s magnificent second-floor Siena Terrace overlooking the ocean, as well as the nearby gazebo at Peninsula Park and the adjacent rugby field fronting the ocean, where a decorated arch can provide a focal point. After you’ve said your “I do’s,” the Pacific Ocean provides fabulous scenery for photos taken on the pier, the sand or the grassy field next to the beach. When you’re ready to receive your guests, return to the upstairs terrace with its panoramic views from Catalina Island to Dana Point. Or, hold your wedding reception in the Siena Grand Dining Room and adjoining courtyard, where antique streetlights and colorful murals of gondolas on canals capture the romance of Venice. Along with five-star Italian cuisine by the restaurant’s gifted executive chef, you’ll enjoy a dreamy indoor-outdoor setting cleansed by refreshing sea spray. Far removed from the straight-laced formality of more corporate properties, the Balboa Inn is just steps from Newport’s famed Fun Zone. Here, you can pose for some playful photos on the historic carousel and Ferris wheel, or take a stress-busting ferry ride across Newport Bay. After you’ve returned to your guests to dance the night away, there’s one more thing you’ll probably want to do before heading for your honeymoon suite: go for a moonlit stroll along the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Balboa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balboa Hotel Newport Beach
Balboa Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing