We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Susan M
Tulsa

Basic Property, Okay Stay, Friendly Staff

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 July 2018
We were probably like most travelers who stay in Needles out of necessity on a long road trip. We were given a discounted last-minute rate of $130. The rooms were basic, functional, pretty dated but seemed clean enough until I went to close the curtain and didn't want to touch it as it was covered in grime. We were looking forward to the included breakfast in the next door restaurant but the voucher had limited options and we ended up paying for what we wanted to eat. The best thing about the property and the restaurant was the staff - in both cases they were very friendly and helpful.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim A, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this review
Responded 26 July 2018
Susan M,
Thank your for taking the time to write a review. We apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations. Your feedback will help us to improve. We hope that you will come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$131
0.1 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free parking
AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$238
  • Vio.com
    AU$213
  • Priceline
    AU$238
0.7 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
QQ DLX
AU$208
  • Priceline
    AU$208
  • Official Hotel
    AU$151
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
0.2 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Habitación
AU$117
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
  • Priceline
    AU$117
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
0.3 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    AU$118
  • Hotels.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
1.7 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$198
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
    AU$198
  • Vio.com
    AU$164
  • Hotels.com
    AU$198
1.7 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$121
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Booking.com
    AU$121
  • Hotels.com
    AU$121
  • Priceline
    AU$121
2.2 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
AU$100
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$100
  • Priceline
    AU$100
1.5 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
AU$165
Fully refundable
Save with Choice Privileges
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Algotels
    AU$165
1.8 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$223
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • BestWestern.com
    AU$215
  • StayForLong
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
0.0 km from Best Western Colorado River Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Needles
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
463
405
168
44
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
463
405
168
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant next door free breakfast adjacent restaurant best westerns place to stay grand canyon room was clean dog area hash browns pool and hot tub would definitely stay here again staff was friendly dog park nice pool colorado river bw lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Great place that has been clean the last few times I have stayed there of the summer. The free breakfast has declined as of this last trip the menu options were decreased. Which the breakfast I had the last stay was good enough for me to want to come back to this hotel. I will probably be looking for somewhere that has a better breakfast or closer to a restaurant of my choice.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank cajesajulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rennag39, General Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Cajesajulga,
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review. We value your feedback.
We are sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast option the last trip. We do change the menu options from time to time to give frequent guests a change. If you come stay again, it could be different menu options as that time.
We hope that you will come stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Kim Acosta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We stayed here on the way from LA to Grand Canyon. The hotel was decent. Rooms were clean. A/C. Breakfast was a voucher to next door's restaurant which was good. The parking lot is right in front of the rooms. The location is good. Near FWY. Sometimes you had to wait a while if the receptionist was on the phone with a customer. They only have 1 receptionist. They should let you know or post a sign that you can just drop off your key to check out instead of waiting for them to finish their conversation just to take your key.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poli-ca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rennag39, Front Office Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Poli-ca5,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback.It allows us to know where we need to improve. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize that Express Check-out was not explained to you when you Checked-in. We will do more training on that.
We hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

The pool looked a little run down and people were allowed to smoke on the property, but other than that I really liked this hotel. There is a little dog park, the gate didn't close, but I appreciated having a specific dog area. The breakfast is next door at a restaurant called Giggling Cactus.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sruthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rennag39, Front Office Manager at Best Western Colorado River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

sruthp,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback. We are pleaded that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

It is what it is and for that it is good. The room doors open on the parking lot. The rooms are clean. The mattress is comfortable. Shampoo, etc is in a dispenser. There is no bar soap available. The outside is newly painted. The parking lot shows some wear.

Breakfast is offered via voucher at the restaurant next door. The offer does not included eggs, bacon, etc. There is a pool and hot tub. There is not a fitness or business center.

The road noise is not bad. The A/C noise is loud. Fortunately the A/C unit is eight feet from the bed so it does not blow directly on you.

The staff is efficient if not overly friendly. The lobby has Route 66 memorabilia. The satellite TV was not working, but we did not call the front desk.

For an overnight stop the place is fine. The price is OK, not great.

Room tip: In the summer get an East facing room. The sun is brutal.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed here twice on our way two and from vacation. They have ample space and let us park our trailer inside their lot (as they did with others.) Also they allow dogs and have a nice shaded dog park area for the dogs to stretch their legs. (Note to staff, gate doesn't latch well and the fence has a gap on back side along bottom.) They also have a cute desert garden out front and the pool area is very nice, with music, fire pits, etc. The rooms are typical for a mid-range hotel. Clean. Quiet. No problems with noise or sketchy characters. With mini fridge and microwave. Free wifi. Free breakfast...real breakfast....at the adjacent restaurant, and 10% off other meals. The adjacent restaurant had good food. Overall this was a pleasant and convenient pit stop for our travels and we would definitely stay there again on this route.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SCVerMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews