We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting in a Venetian Castle!"”

Del Dotto Vineyards & Winery
Ranked #12 of 190 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Danville, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wine tasting in a Venetian Castle!"”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This winery maye one of the most beautiful in Napa! I love anything european related, especially when it comes to chandeliers and this place was right up my alley! I wish we would have toured the wine cellar, but I hear their caves in St. Helena are a bit more worthy of the ticket price. Their wine is pretty pricey, but we did indulge in 2 bottles. Loved that they let you wine taste with different cheeses and sweets. HIghly recommend this as a stop!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank YRP_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    80
    25
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“you will like this place if you like buying used cars”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This place made us feel like we were being worked as they tried to get us drunk for a very expensive price. We had heard great things and we would recommend people skip this experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Informative and Entertaining”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I signed up for a cave tour/barrel tasting at the Del Dotto Napa location. Due to it being off season, we ended up being the only ones in our group which made it essentially a private tour - a huge bonus that you might not experience during busier months. Our guide Tim was great. We learned a fair bit and he was definitely entertaining. The small bites afterward were a nice extra. The tour is a bit pricey at $50 each but you do get to taste some reasonably expensive wines, some of which were outstanding. Know that if you are planning to buy, most vintages will set you back a few dollars.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeahL1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bring your taste buds and a well stocked check book..”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Excellent wines, tasting room, caves and knowledgeable employees. Cash in your 401s,as you will need the cash to pay for the many fabulous, tho pricey wines that they produce here. well worth every penny, if you have that many pennys to part with...

Helpful?
Thank Chuck J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, but overpriced”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really enjoyed the tour, but thought the price point should be more like $30 than $60 per person. We heard tales of the huge pours but actually didn't experience them. Which is fine by us, but I just thought I would note it. The place is also pretty cheesy in the 'lobby' area... no big deal, but funny. The caves are neat though, and we did feel like we learned a few things about barrel aging.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank weekendsaway24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Dotto Vineyards & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Del Dotto Vineyards & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing