We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sweet spot for the weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cabin

The studio bedroom and sitting area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The studio bedroom and sitting area
The front entrance 1/2 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The studio bedroom and sitting area
The front entrance
1/2 Kitchen
Ambient heat fireplace
Bureau and mirror reflecting bedroom
Cozy shower bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Murphys, Calaveras County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David B
SF bay area, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet spot for the weekend”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was a great spot for a weekend getaway. It has everything you need in a small (but not too small) area. One of the highlights is the fact one can simply walk out the front door, make a right turn and be in the middle of downtown in about a minute or two (for the slower folks). When we return to Murphy's - this will be our spot. Thanks.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick F
Roseville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Located one short block from Main Street. Amazing what Anna accomplished in this small place, clean, well-stocked, and very comfortable. TV could be a little larger and hung on the wall. Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cabin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFOO7
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming & Convenient”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We rented the Cabin for a weekend. Very charming. Like all the other reviewers have said, GREAT location. Two minutes from Main Street, lined with wine tasting places and a handful of restaurants and cute little shops.

The furnishing is adequate. The only potentially negative thing is that the shower is really small. Think of the smallest elevator you've ever stepped into...then halve that. If you're on the bigger side, look for other options.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacuarech...
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wet Weekend but nice the the cozy cabin”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was our second stay at the Cabin in Murphys.
Consistent with our first stay, the experience was pleasant.
So much better than a hotel room. The cabin is a free standing structure, so no sounds and noise from neighbors. The experience is like having your own cottage in downtown Murphys within easy walking distance of the main street and all the shops, restaurants and tasting rooms.
Our experience on this stay was diminished slightly by a couple of apparent over-sights by management and the cleaning staff. For example: There was no bar soap for hand-washing and showering. And, only one small tube each of shampoo and conditioner and shower gel: For two people for two days, this is not adequate. The keyless door lock did not function properly and was problematic to get it to latch even when the door was closed and held shut.
Also, It was a wet and gloomy weekend. There was not a floor mat or carpet by the door on the inside of the cabin. So, naturally with the wet conditions outside and not a place to remove shoes before entering, the bare hard floors soon were covered with wet and dirty footprints. It made the room feel dirty. Lastly, one packet of regular coffee for 2 people for two days was not adequate. There were two packs of decaf., but we did not want decaf. We drink the real thing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiteness
Liked least: Lack of entry door mat and bench to remove shoes. No hand soap.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itinerant...
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Upon Arrival - Do Not Be Alarmed - It IS a Charming Cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband kept the car running, he was so sure I was going to turn around and say we were not staying here. It appears - from the exterior - to be a small shed with a sign to the left saying 'Cabin'. When you open the door, however, you enter a charming and large cottage with a bed-sit area complete with fireplace and easy chairs for lounging, a large comfortable bed, a kitchen and bathroom to the back and even a small patio, secluded in the trees. It is one block from the noisy (and not terribly comfortable) Murphys Hotel. We walked to the hotel for a drink at the bar and were so happy to return to the peace of this tiny street and this lovely little cottage across the street from a small white church. We enjoyed a quiet night and coffee in the morning on the patio. Next time, I will plan on more than one day as I hated to leave this small oasis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Patio in the rear, parking right in front
Liked least: Noisy air conditioning system
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing