We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
318
216
72
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
216
72
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop gardentudor suitejacuzzi tubwine tastingwithin walking distancecovered parkingwafflesfree breakfastvery nice hotelgas fireplaceloved this hotelgreat viewnice roomlocation was perfectview of the oceanshops and restaurantstwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 654 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We spent two nights here in January and can not wait to return! Our room had a gorgeous view of The Rock. What a lovely, peaceful little town with nice restaurants and cute shops. The Inn has a rooftop balcony to watch the sunset and enjoy the night! The breakfast is wonderful!

Room Tip: The room with a fireplace, jacuzzi, and bay window facing the Rock!!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank oliviaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for the excellent review. We are glad you enjoyed our rooftop area and your stay. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The Ascot Suites was very quiet, restful, and a great location. Our room was very comfortable. We did have ants periodically, in the bathroom and in the bed; one day our room was not serviced; and the day we went in there was a piece of trash on the floor, indicating that it had not perhaps been vacuumed well. But these small matters notwithstanding, we were very comfortable and would definitely stay again. We made the reservation for our anniversary, and discussed this with the reservation agent who was extremely kind and pleasant. We like it when our anniversaries are acknowledged in some way by the hotel, and through the years this has always occurred...a card, a chocolate, something. This hotel did not acknowledge the occasion. Its just a nice gesture. But these are small complaints. The front desk guys were always friendly and helpful and gave us good recommendations. They have a nice little buffet breakfast which we appreciated. There is always excellent co9ffee in the lobby. But the best of all was how quiet it was. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: King suite Tower room, great view, very quiet, nice little fireplace.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abbykogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

We are in such a great location and are glad you enjoyed exploring the area! Thank you for your nice review and we appreciate your feedback. We will look into the issues you mention ASAP. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Staff was very outgoing and informative, breakfasts were pretty standard but good, room was pleasant and clean however it could of used a little bathroom updating. work. Very scenic area and friendly people in the vicinity..

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bahraini2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our staff and about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the area and all it offers. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We were looking for a place to stay for 4 nights; a place to relax and enjoy this part of the central coast. What drew us here to the Ascot was the ability to have a good breakfast every morning, as well as a comfortable room to relax should the weather turn into a "stay indoors and enjoy a good book" kind of day -- which is always a possibility during the rainy season. Because of this, we chose to book the Tudor Suite -- a comfortable layout with a separate sitting room that had a fireplace and a small sofa. There is a small balcony, large enough for a couple chairs, where you can sit and enjoy the view towards Morro Rock while taking in the ocean air.

As I previously mentioned, when staying awhile in a small town, it's nice to be able to start the day with a decent breakfast without having to search for (and pay for) the same elsewhere. Once you're ready to go for the day, Morro Bay is a great starting point to head out for playing golf or a beautiful drive -- north to see glassblowing in Harmony, the shops of Cambria, the elephant seals (and the castle) of San Simeon; south to beautiful Montaña de Oro (take the drive south on Main St. which winds through the state park, a great little museum of natural and local history, and the marina, before continuing on around the beautiful estuary towards Los Osos.

Back to the Ascot...
Two things I would change about the suite we were in -- the bed was one of those styles where you had to climb up a 2-step stool to get into bed. The bed itself was fine. Having a lower, more traditional height might make it safer for not only the elderly, but the active. Where was I....
The other would be the comfort of the sofa in the sitting area. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great either...especially if you wanted to settle in for watching a movie or reading a good book.

All in all, a delightful stay. The Ascot sometimes has some specials for extended stays. It can't hurt to ask.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RomantikCuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

We are pleased to hear that you had a delightful stay with us! We appreciate guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please come back and see us again the next time your travels take you to this area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Great place, cozy rooms, stunning view, two blocks from bayside. Staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent and I liked the parking garage. The jacuzzi was perfect after a day traveling. Definitely coming back

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdunmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ckerk, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Inn at the Rock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.  We are here to make your stay pleasant and comfortable, please come back and see us again soon!  

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews