We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Inn at Morro Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Morro Bay
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed here Tuesday & Wednesday September 5th & 6th via a Groupon, Room 502.... which really wasn't much of a deal. I say that because, as I requested a Bay View & advanced dates, the room was not the low price of $115 per night as per Groupon's ad but $139 a night for an off season room.

The room itself was nice & mostly clean except for the shower wall tile grout. The ceiling fan was not over the bed, but over towards the windows, and it kept scraping against the shutters (which we finally propped back w/ our luggage).

The bed & pillows were comfortable and as it was off season, all the guests were spread-out, not all crammed together in one building, making for noise.

There was no microwave except in the lobby, so I'm guessing they do not want guests eating in the room, rather in their restaurant. There was no complimentary breakfast or water, only coffee. Which is why I only rated this Three (3) Stars.....

The refrigerator was tiny and so low to the floor that it was difficult to put anything in it. There were no glasses only coffee mugs.

The stairwell was filthy with cigarette butts (people are slobs)...

We did have 2 luggage racks, but not enough shower gel or shampoo for 2 people, but we usually bring our own.

There was a GREAT View of the estuary, pelicans, cormorants, turkey vultures, blue herons, & deer. There is no direct beach access, but you can walk past the National Heron Rookery to the beach (less than 1/4 mile), but do beware of the no-see-ums... I was bitten all over.

Patio chairs & a table would have been nice, but we improvised.

The staff was exceptionally nice & helpful....

As it is just outside of town and across from a golf course & adjacent to the State Park, it makes for less traffic.

We will be going back as it is a good place to visit, shop, eat & less than 30 miles from Hearst Castle & San Luis Obispo...

Room Tip: 500 building has views of the estuary, rookery, Rock, & sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Auntie-Nanuuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Auntie-Nanuuq,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the historic Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

our stay at this hotel was a nightmare was so hot like a sweat lodge and giant mosquitos ate up the family all weekend and I booked this and paid on groupon and the manager Joel had the ordasity to lie to my face and say he didn't charge my credit card and the minute I turned around he did he like's to argue with the customers and give them a hard time such bad customer service and till this day he hasn't refunded my money don't stay at this hotel

Room Tip: no ac in rooms people read fine print
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank villastar2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Villastar2585,

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us.

I understand that you were dissatisfied with the heat and mosquitos, both out of our control. Please note that you were refunded through Groupon the same day...Joel is an honest man. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

Thank you,
Charlie Yates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Found this gem in the middle of a Ca. heat wave. Has a nice pool and hot tub. The morning and evening fog made the hot tub even better! This place is kinda dated and worn. But it was very clean! Conveniently located just south of town and next to the State park & campground. Great happy hour with an awesome bartender. Didn't have any meals there but they did look good and a wine selection that was very impressive. I stayed here for 5 relaxing days. Pet friendly although I did not bring mine. Great location, minutes from SLO, Hearst Castle, Paso Robles, Cambria. Value priced....another perk. I will be back, no doubt.

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms have a balcony. Some upstair rooms also have a Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HBwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear HBwino,

It is great to hear that you had a relaxing getaway with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Yesterday, my wife and I had horrendous day; a true 'ballache' of a day. We had driven from Las Vegas to Santa Monica the day before and hadn't been able to find anywhere - and I mean ANYWHERE - to stay so we ended-up sleeping in the car at the side of Hwy 1 in Malibu. So, yesterday, we decided to drive further up the coast to try and find somewhere - either campground or motel (we have a tent) - but, again, there was nothing in Ventura, Santa Barbara, Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo, Atascadero, Templeton... anywhere.

At 12:30am, we rolled into the Inn's carpark and I went to Reception in a last-ditch effort to find a room. As expected there were no rooms available but a lovely man called Jacob (I think?) started calling around hotels in the area, told us where we could have a shower, let us use the hotel wifi and let us sleep in the car in their car park. After phoning countless campsites, hotels and motels with no humanity or assistance spared by anyone and after travelling around aimlessly for 8 hours, this act of kindness really did give us hope and a little bit of happiness.

Thank you Jacob, you're a good bloke.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank tmcharles94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear tmcharles94,

It is great to hear that Jacob saved the evening for you and family! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...and to give Jacob some much deserved praise. We hope you will come back and visit us soon...reservations highly suggested!

Warm regards,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Headed to Morrow Bay for a quick go to the beach, get out of the 110 degree heat we are having in Northern California trip. We have stayed at the inn at Morrow Bay before and each time the experience has been very good. Got a balcony room and had a nice view of the Bay....see the sunset pic. Decent sized, clean rooms that have a small fridge to use.

One the plus side....heated pool and hot tub, garden like setting, next to Morrow Bay State Park and golf course. The hotel has a pretty good restaurant and bar with a great local wine selection.

Only a couple minus items....loud landscaping at 8 am, a rather firm bed (which may be a plus for others) and only 2 sets of towels. The front desk was great getting us extra towels but since you are in a beach area you go through more towels and they should be in the room.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Ross,

It is great to hear that you had a first class "COOL" stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel...and I agree...more towels the better! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
2 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
1.8 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
622 reviews
2 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
340 reviews
1.9 km away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Morro Bay

Address: 60 State Park Rd, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range: $100 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe deeply, and relax. Savor the rejuvenating ambiance of California's Central Coast. You've just found paradise. Surrounded by 4,000 acres of rugged woodlands and overlooking Morro Bay and the Pacific Ocean, our newly renovated hotel is a serene destination for your next coastal getaway. Explore wineries, walk along the sand, tour historic sites, or simply exhale and be. Delight in a stunning waterfront location, and discover one of the most appealing hotels in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Morro Bay Hotel Morro Bay
Hotel Morro Bay
Morro Bay Inn
Inn Morro Bay
Inn At Morro Bay California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing