We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
9
33
11
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
33
11
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee pot room was clean one night refrigerator and microwave walking distance to everything water front would stay again second floor wifi embarcadero bay block motel desk
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

This hotel is quite right for a one night stay. The rooms were okay and clean. The decor seems outdated and you can see areas with wear and tear as well. The curtains had stains as well. The rooms come with a microwave and mini fridge which is great except the mini fridge makes a lot of noise especially at night when you're trying to rest. The beds were also a bit uncomfortable and finding a spot to get comfy was quite a challenge. In the end like mentioned I would stay here for a night and look for amenities in another hotel. On the bright side, the hotel is located near the shore. You can walk or drive to nearby restaurants and shops. Morro Rock is not too far either about a 10-minute drive from the hotel. Other good things are being able to hear marine life. The night we arrived we could hear seals. In the end this hotel just for people who need to rest for the night and then continue their drive to their destination or a night to just spend and see Morro Bay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gonzalap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

gonzalap,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this thorough and insightful review. I do apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the bed, but I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and convenient experience. We are also forever working to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will remember our attributes and return to see how we have improved to impress you even more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

An easy walk to downtown mall Babe where there are many restaurants bars and shops the room itself is just average but does come on the refrigerator and microwave we had a room close to the edge which they have a balcony that can be used by all for viewing. The photo is from the balcony. Free parking.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kcolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear kcolton,

Thank you for sharing your perspective of our hotel’s accommodations and services! It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient experience. We hope you're looking forward to your next stay as much as we are!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

The motel is old and run down, furniture is badly worn, smallest soaps possible, cheapest facial tissue that only tears out in clumps, indoor-outdoor carpeting closely matching the outdoor walkway carpeting which is stained and damaged, no decaf coffee or tea, one cup coffee maker w/ only two reg. coffees, no note paper, no hair dryer, tear in the middle of the bottom sheet and ants in the bathroom and we were on the second floor.
To be nice, you could see the bay and hear the sea lions.

Room tip: There are two small public sun decks on either street end of the motel's second story rooms that have a view. Few rooms do have views.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Lee F,

Thank you for letting us know about the inconveniences that you encountered during your
recent stay at our hotel. We take all reports of lacking service and your suggestions for improvement, particularly those that you have raised. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to light and we hope that you will find your expectations to be far surpassed during your next stay with us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Booked last minute for a quick little stay in Morro Bay and was not disappointed. We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but our ocean view king room had a great view of Morro Rock and was in walking distance to all the cute little shops and restaurants. The bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean. The teeny coffee pot brewed hot coffee (feel free to ask for more!). And the room was quiet. Is it the Hilton? No. But is it a nice little stay? Absolutely.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SaltWaterGal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

SaltWaterGal79,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay of Bay View Inn Hotel. We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant,
comfortable and convenient experience. We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The only thing that’s great about this place is the location BUT I’ll be staying at other places that we’ve enjoyed and will NEVER book here again. We were contacted twice during the day of our confirmation of the room. Don’t call me at 11am when check in is at 2pm and LISTEN the first time when we confirm. Don’t call me again hours later.
The check-in itself was uncomfortable. The owner was very unpleasant and the office smelled horribly of curry to the point of needing to get fresh air. The ambience was NOT ocean town themed and the elephants and other weird decor was confusing.
Parking was a crummy. They had parking spots off limits because they were storing carpet and room lamps. We actually ended up having to park on the street. The room was a good size yet, very bare and nothing matched. Also, our Ocean view was a crock. We saw a sliver of the bay and the top portion of the rock. Seemed very odd for the price we paid. The shower towels were horrible. Itchy and hard. Zero comfort. I did contact the office and asked for an extra pillow because the pillows given were very soft and twin sized. We had a King bed. I was told,” I have already given 3 other people pillows and can’t for you!” I repeated my request and was told he couldn’t because he already did for others.
Again, for the price we paid I was hoping for better accommodations. An extra pillow, better towels, shampoo and a blow dryer would’ve been nice.
Do NOT waste your money or your patience.
I highly recommend and will now always continue to stay at the Bay Front Inn. They aren’t stingy with their pillows and I can breathe fresh air when we check in
The owner and staff (fairly certain it’s family members) could really use some hotel customer service etiquette classes. You’re in the wrong business if you continue down this path.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Bay View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Bonnie K,

Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to
share this experience. I'm sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new accommodations in the area and that you'll give us another chance to restore your faith in our hospitality and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews