We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best soy milk west of Taiwan”
Review of Huge Tree Pastry

Huge Tree Pastry
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Monterey Park
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Hole in the wall place recommended by locals. We had oil bread sticks with soy milk both sweet and salty ones. Friends also recommended the sticky rice rolls with eggs and pickles. We have to wait for our next trip to try it.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank sunjoe075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

In particular a great rendition of "dou jiang you tiao," which you could think of as the Chinese equivalent of a French crepe or of a New Orleans beignet. But you do have to know what you are doing, as English translations are scarce and no pictures. Also be prepared for a long wait in line--but totally worth it! Best idea--go with a Chinese friend or family member and get a personal tour through the menu.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrMegalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

It's nothing better than to have a hot salty/sweet soybean milk and a Taiwanese donut or Salty Fan Tuan which is a Chinese donut, dried shredded pork and pickles wrapped with steamed sticky rice. It's just simple comfort food for most Chinese people. They also serve noodle soup, steamed dumplings, steamed buns and all kinds of Chinese pastries. It could get crowded on weekends.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elsie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The establishment is located in a busy strip mall. Parking could be tricky compounded with the glory that is driving in San Gabriel. It is also located directly across the street from a heavily trafficked mall. If you lack patience, do not attempt this area on a weekend. But the food here is worth some frustration. It's Taiwanese breakfast food of sweet or savory soy milk, rice rolls and assorted pastries. We have only ever gotten our food to-go so service is always speedy. The reception is always warm and friendly if only from the one lady. She is always juggling plenty of phone, walk-up and eat-in orders and still manages to maintain her demeanor. It's a very small store front and air conditioning is not a given. Plus the clientele's disregard of personal space could make ordering stressful. But again, the food has never disappointed. So I grit my teeth to deal with it all for the ends. My usual order is sweet rice roll in wild rice, a savory rice roll with dehydrated meat, pickles and an egg in the savory regular rice roll and finally a savory soy milk. Sates me every time. I highly recommend it over most of the eateries across the street in the mall.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

There aren't many places in the area that serves fan tuans. The only other place I can think of is in San Gabriel across from the 168 market. We ordered the salty fan tuan, green onion pancake, pork and shrimp wonton soup, and a hot and a cold sweet soy milk. The soy milk was great, wasn't overly too sweet. There is sugar on the side if you feel its not sweet enough. The fan tuans were great; it would have been even better if the fan tuan was more crispy. There were a right amount of pork sung and pickled vegies. I can probably pass on the green onion pancake next time; there are probably many other places in the area that make it better. The pork and shrimp wontons were nothing to write home about either. There aren't many tables in the small restaurant and there are only a few people working. If you come at a busy time, expect for a long wait.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank leep116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huge Tree Pastry also viewed

Monterey Park, CA
 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to Huge Tree Pastry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing