We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candle Bay Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
10
16
24
18
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
16
24
18
72
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The room was neat and clean, but had a slight stench to it. Also, at least in the room I was in, the hair dryer was not working, there was no ironing board for the iron, and there was no soap bar for the shower. I know it's a budget hotel, but even budget hotels should have all their amenities working. On the positive side, all the TV channels worked and the Wi-Fi connection was decent. If you're looking for a quick overnight stay for a low price, this is a good place, otherwise, you may want to spend a few more bucks and look elsewhere. Front Desk service was average, just did their job. Breakfast selection pretty spartan, just milk, cereal, coffees, toast, and muffins.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We are glad that we only stayed one night at the Econo Lodge Monterrey during our California travels. To say the front desk was surly does injustice to surly. When we went into our room, it was on the end right by the road – room 110. There was black mold on the shower door and torn curtains. Unpleasant, mismatched, cheap furniture and local information in the room dated to 2004. Oh, it also looks the headboard of the bed had been pounded against so much that you could see where the heads had been hitting it – see pictures. When we asked the front desk if there was another room, we were told no rooms were available. However, we called from the room using our cell phone and were told that yes they had rooms available. Recommend that you stay away from this establishment.

Room Tip: Just stay away find another hotel to stay at.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed only one night. Our room was the last one at the very top of the hill, so parking was a bit akward. But for around $70 it was a good deal. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. If your looking to do Monterey on the cheap, nothing fancy, you should go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats not up there huge hill!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbytalksalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Don't ever stay here no matter how low the rates are. The beds and pillows are hard, the tv doesn't work, nor does the hot water, the fridge and heater run all night long and the walls are so thin I can hear it every time my neighbor farts, snores or coughs. It is literally the worst hotel/motel experience I've ever had. My room is missing the light bulbs because some tweaker no doubt stole 'em and the lobby reeks of Indian food. I thought $40 a night was a steal, I'd have slept better under a park bench.

Room Tip: don't stay here....anywhere but here!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have stayed in many econolodge's and this one was the worst! Some of the lights didn't work but worst of all the shower was discussing. We had to wear flipflops but it got worse as the water did not drain and after asking them to have a look at it... There was no improvement! Breakfast was poor in comparison to other econolodge breakfasts. It was not an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews