We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

before I went there, I read many negetive reviews so make me think negetive way.
but when I stayed there everyth is great location, bed, service.
I didnt hear any noise at all, mayb I turned AC (fan) on.

my bf doesnt like one thing though. he doesn't like the shower, so low compared with his heigh.

btw/ I'll come back again for sure.
and sorry for my bad english

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pigpig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 18 July 2015
Thank you for a nice 4 star review. You liked our bed, location and service. Please come again and try our newly renovated bathrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    256
    139
    39
    27
See reviews for
171
278
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

While the rooms have been updated, the hotel is still showing it's age. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the location good. We must of just had a round of bad luck . . . our rental car was broken into, along with several others, our first night. The police officer did say it was unusual. The toilet kept stopping up, but the maintenance staff responded promptly. The elevator from the 3rd floor wouldn't stop on the 1st floor until it went the parking garage level first. The bathroom was very small and the room a tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Not a bad option for the location, but I had expected more for the price.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank FloridaKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for noticing our room refurbishment which does include Pillowtop beds, new bed topping,curtains, furniture and carpet. All designed by a professional designer!
Thank you for noticing our staff's response level as quick.
Our rooms are average in size to large for the Monterey Peninsula.
The rooms with two queen beds are 12' x 27' or 324 sq. feet.
Our central downtown location is recognized as a safe area and from here over 40+
restaurantsand Fisherman's Wharf are nearby on foot.
Craig Smith, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we were able to walk to the Custom House Garage (about 10 minutes) to get the bus in the morning to the race start. We were woken up the first night by some rowdy guests, but that could have happened anywhere. Also, we were just down the street from the Del Monte shopping center where there was a Whole Foods, a pharmacy, a P.F. Chang's, and other restaurants. I would also recommend The Wild Plum right next to the Denny's across the street from the Travelodge. It's a little expensive, but they've got a great veggie burger. Oh, our room had a mini-fridge, too, and was just down the street from a Peet's Coffee & Tea, and only a few blocks from the Convention Center for the Expo.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunnerGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 18 July 2015
Thank you for your review. You liked our location, cleanliness and thought we were a good place to stay for the Big Sur Marathon. Come enjoy our newly renovated bathrooms on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkertown
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

The staff is very friendly and helpful, but the hotel is showing its age and is in a park of town that allowed vagrants to knock on the doors all during the night. Too bad such a friendly staff couldn't own or work at a more inviting place. Priced way too high for the location, even if in Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjr1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
We are indeed a very friendly property in a very friendly town. This guest's experience is not typical and was not relayed to our 24 hour front desk as we have no logged record of it. If in fact our staff was called, they would have immediately checked out the situation. If necessary they would have called the Police Department. We can and do respond to any situation we are aware of. Our customers can and do get a great night's sleep on our Pillowtop beds.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narellan, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This hotel is great. Room was large with excellent facilities including free Wifi which worked! Room was also clean, bed very comfortable with free parking at your door. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The big plus is it's location - within walking distance of downtown Monterey which has great coffee shops through to excellent quality restaurants. Would definitely stay here again if I was in Monterey, which we loved visiting.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for your compliments. I am on the property 6 days a week and all of us from Sergio and
Eli in maintenance, to Elizabeth and Maria in housekeeping and Carol, Marc, Chris J, Mike and
Chris at the 24 hour front desk work very diligently to make sure our guests are happy, safe and
having fun discovering the Monterey Peninsula. Our expanded continental breakfast every morning
from 7 am to 10 am keeps a lot of our guests happy as does our Simmons Pillowtop beds and
free wi-fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.4 km away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#17 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $146 - $395
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Otel, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing