We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, honest & professional staff and very clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Ranked #34 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location, honest & professional staff and very clean rooms”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

awesome bargain hotel, great price, clean room, decent free breakfast, polite and friendly staff and above all honest people. I left a valuable item behind, called a week later after I checked out and the lobby operator was very helpful and told me that my item was found in lost and found. They very graciously shipped it back to me at my expense. I can not praise the staff and hotel enough and above all, it's pet friendly, what else can a traveler ask for. 5 stars for me.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie90808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thanks you for your 5 STAR recommendation! I am glad we were able to return your item in a timely manner. Thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    166
    102
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
170
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I purchased a night at this hotel on Priceline's Name Your Price option. I knew I was bidding on a Comfort Inn type of room - so my expectations were not high when I arrived at the hotel. I was fully aware from other reviews that this was a one story, "motel" style hotel. Our room was first floor, and exterior hallways. I only needed the room for one night for myself and my daughter. We got to our room around 8 p.m., a little disappointed with the size of the room and the lack of much sound buffers, but could deal with this. The room was very stuffy and I attempted to turn on the air conditioning. When I couldn't find the controls, I called the front desk. I was informed by the front desk clerk that the room we were in did not have a/c - only heat. In fact, only half of the rooms in the hotel have a/c (and of course all of those were occupied). When I asked the clerk how I am supposed to cool down the room, she told me to "open the window". Also there was a small fan in the closet that I was supposed to plug in and use. I told her that I was traveling with my daughter and because of noise and safety concerns, I refuse to open the window for circulation. She said the windows were equipped with screens. I'm sorry, but a screen is not enough protection.

My only choice at this point was to deal with the fan and stuffiness or find another hotel, which I did not want to do at 10 p.m. The upside here (which is why I gave the property an overall rating of Poor instead of terrible) is that the Comfprt Inn manager agreed to not charge Priceline for the room - now I have to go back to Priceline to get my money back. Ugh. Priceline should not offer this hotel on its Name Your Price option, and any buyers should be notified that there is no guarantee they will receive a room with air conditioning!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We appreciate your feedback, We apologies about the weather being so hot. It is always difficult to book on Priceline. In the future may I suggest calling hotel direct as you will also be able to find good deals and book a room that fits your needs. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We got a good night's sleep, even with a few airplanes flying over. The last plane of the evening flew over at about 10:00 pm and the earliest in the morning was 8:00 am. Very quiet night in between! No problems with the room or the staff. Plenty of parking and a good breakfast provided.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We appreciate your feedback. Yes the planes are flying their normal paths so they do not disturb the hotel guests during quiet times! They were flying lower then normal several weeks ago due to the heavy fog that we were experiencing. Mother nature is back on our side. Weather is great, it is Indian Summer time in Monterey. Beautiful time to visit....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox River Grove, IL
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here after day on the road and a evening in Monterey. We were looking for something affordable for one night since we had to be in Southern CA the next day.
I would call this a motel not a hotel all rooms are outside. I do not like outside rooms but for one night it was fine. The room was a little cramped but clean.
The spa that is mentioned are two hot tubs outside in an enclosed wooden structure. I had trouble turning them on so did not use.
There are flowers all over that do smell wonderful. The breakfeast is what you expect from a Comfort Inn.
I stayed here because of the price and because we were on our way in the morning. If I was to spend some time in Monterey I would spend the money and stay in a more upscale hotel close to the water. But for a night it works.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your input. We are glad we could afford you a good value during your stay in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I really only have one requirement for a hotel room - cleanliness. Overall, the room and sheets were clean. Unfortunately, both of my towels were not clean -- they had hair from previous use. However, the front desk staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was good. The room wasn't roomy, just enough room for a bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your input. We pride our self in providing clean and comfortable rooms. Please rest assure your comments will be reviewed with our housekeeping department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.3 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
172 reviews
2.6 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
0.6 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,036 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Bay

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Address: 2050 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $134 - $406
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location in Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey Bay offers clean and comfortable rooms that include a free hot breakfast serving eggs,sausage,hot freshly made waffles in 2 flavors, fresh fruit,cereals, pastries and much more.Free WIFI. Micro/Fridge in all rooms. Walk to restaurants. Minutes to Fisherman's wharf, Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row. Within 2 miles to beaches and golf. Call hotel for additional information on our Package offers such as the Aquarium package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing