We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the water!”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right on the water!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Spindrift Inn for three nights and it was fantastic! Be sure you book a room facing the bay. We loved watching the waves and otters playing in the water. Our room had a window seat, windows that really open, a fireplace, and a very comfortable bed. Plus, our rate included happy hour (wine & cheese, tea, coffee) in the lobby or take to your room. Breakfast is also included--served to your room. We ordered a boiled egg each day, fruit, cheese, and muffins, plus of course, coffee and juice. It was not only delicious, but so convenient. The staff were very friendly and our car was always brought to us very promptly by the valet. I recommend it!

Room Tip: Book on the water side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,463
    343
    91
    42
    26
See reviews for
190
1,386
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

If you're looking for a hotel that serves as a romantic hideaway for a few days, where you can sit in front of a log fire in a "cosy" room, then I guess the Spindrift Inn will give you that. And there are some nice touches too; being provided with a coffee machine AND a second machine to allow you to make tea (rather than run hot water through coffee-flavoured mechanics in an effort to make tea) was appreciated.

The staff were very good, the location is excellent and the place tries hard to make a virtue out of its weaknesses - the "breakfast in bed" option, for example, may sound romantic but essentially provides you with a somewhat scant continental breakfast in your room simply because the hotel has no dining room. And the rooms are not very large, so cramming in a double bed, two chairs and footrest in front of the fire plus a table and two chairs as well makes for a very compact experience. Again, some will call this cosy I guess.

I will disagree with the review that makes a virtue over the cleanliness of the hotel though. We found long, dark hairs around the room and bathroom, the worst of which were actually in the bed itself. They may have been from the previous occupant, or maybe from the maid, but finding foreign hairs in your bed is not something you want from ANY hotel, let alone one costing $200-$300 a night. And that comment also goes for a breakfast containing a single slice of toast when it toast is requested, two cold hard-boiled eggs as the egg course, etc.

A nice enough hotel, but I was not blown away given the price and reputation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Ok, first let me get this out of the way - this place is CLEAN. It exceeded my high standards of cleanliness, and the lack of carpeting in the rooms was AWESOME (there's hard wood flooring). My husband and I stayed on the top (4th) floor in a corner king ocean view room, and it was worth every penny. The room was warm and charming without being stuffy. There were little extras everywhere - bath salts in the bathroom for soaking, the in-room coffee maker was a keurig (and four keurig cups of coffees/teas were provided). The bay window seat with the old fashioned crank open windows was my favorite, and being on the top floor provided the best view. There is also a roof top terrace with chairs/tables you could go to. But the bed - that was the best part!!! Like sleeping on a cloud. I usually take my own orthopedic pillow on trips but I forgot it this time and I slept like a baby :) Then in the morning after a very substantial (free) continental breakfast that is actually delivered to your room, the staff kept our bags and car for us while we spent the day at the aquarium. We will definately be back. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND FOR CHILDREN. The room is too small for little ones and there are no screens on the windows to prevent a fall!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. Cali
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is so charming and delicate. The staff is very attentive. We love the views of the ocean and the real wood burning fireplace. The windows open to let in the fresh ocean air too. Comfy, fluffy, cloud-like beds and pillows---you don't want to leave. Continental breakfast is served in your room. And they offer wine, fruit and cheese in the afternoon in the lobby too. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCali-momof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel was the perfect ending to my trip and I can't wait to go back with my husband. The room was awesome with the fluffiest bed and pillows. The armchairs in front of the fire were perfect for watching a movie in front of the fire. The fireplace was perfect and easy to start (even for a novice like me). My favorite part was the window seating with the crank open windows. I loved sitting there in the sun reading and watching the sea. Perfectly calm and relaxing. Also, the breakfast was super delish and the staff was so wonderful and caring. It was truly an awesome hotel. I don't know that I would go there with kids, as it was a really romantic, peaceful type of place, but I loved it for my solo trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean view to see the ocean without paying the full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
3.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $356 - $647
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing