We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,728)
Filter reviews
1,728 results
Traveller rating
1,061
470
126
42
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
470
126
42
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast sea lions end of cannery row double sinks hot tub each morning san carlos beach ocean view quiet end monterey bay yogurt oceanfront room breakfast delivered fourth floor fisherman's wharf private balcony within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,728 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

...but every room here is. We got a “deal” for $359 per night with a view of the ocean and beach, beautiful! The breakfast is quite mediocre (couple of pastries, fruit, and hard boiled eggs), but to charge over $3 for a bottle of water in your room is in my opinion, greedy. Every other hotel this was free. We did use the 4th floor hot tub a couple of times, other than that we were out exploring. We would use it again if we were in the area as this was the cheapest option, just don’t expect too much.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Woody_1_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We spent last week at the Monterey Bay Inn and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Service was friendly and prompt, and the view was outstanding. We were in an ocean view room and were able to watch Sea Otters, Seals, Dolphin, and loads of sea birds right from our balcony. The binoculars in the room were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable, and both of us really liked the continental breakfast delivered to the room each morning. Fruit, yogurt, pastries, hard boiled eggs and coffee were available, which was plenty for us. With the doors and shutters closed, we could still hear the light sound of the waves and the sea lions barking in the distance at night - but no traffic noise. We found this location to be very quiet, yet close enough to easily walk to the aquarium, tons of restaurants and Cannery Row. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are quiet and have great views.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgebacklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The Inn is overall very well cared for, with nice sized rooms and great views. The continental breakfast delivered to the rooms and turn down service are both nice touches.
What would make the Inn better? better sound proofing.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Monterey Bay Inn for 3 nights while visiting the the Monterey/Carmel area. The hotel is nice. We had a corner king room with a view of the bay and the wharf. This was worth the extra money as it also had a jacuzzi tub with a great view.

There is no restaurant on site, the lobby is small and there is not a lot of common space. And the continental breakfast that comes with the room is pretty sparse. BUT, the location is great, lots of wonderful dining options close by, all within walking distance. And the views are great. Pretty quiet. I would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NYCking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

This was a clean hotel and we enjoyed the free parking and breakfast to your door. However, we did not sleep either night because there is no A/C and we kept the screen door open to allow cool air into the room. Even with outside temps in the mid 60’s during the day, our room was warm and stale feeling. We used the fan they provided and a white noise app on our phones to drown out the street noise, but were woken both nights w/ loud cars, alarms, etc. This is a fine hotel for 2 stars and maybe $199/night, not the $299 we paid. We were really disappointed to see we could have stayed at the Intercontiental or Plaza for just $30-$50 more.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OurPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews