We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, great rates and free breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here in February. Loved it. All staff were nice. The rooms were renovated, very clean. It was very quiet. We had a 2 bedroom family suite that overlooked the woods. Lots of space for all the kids and a pak and play too. The breakfast was very good, had all the regular continental stuff as well as eggs, sausage, and make your own waffles. We found our new place to always stay when in Monterey.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BsyTrvlnFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

I am so glad you found your new place to stay when you visit Monterey again. We love to see the same faces again and our complimentary breakfast is truly a great value when folks are looking to save that extra cash on holidays. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 603 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

What a great find in Monterey, We had a fantastic room with a king size bed and a jacuzzi in the room. Room was large and very clean. Breakfast was very good. We stayed in 6 different hotels on our vacation and this was my favorite.

Room Tip: ask for the king bed with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Best out of 6!! Thank you for the accolade. I am glad you enjoyed our Jacuzzi suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very clean, and comfortable with an excellent complimentry breakfast. Staff very friendly, especially at breakfast room.Ideal location for exploring the Monterey Area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We aim to please and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I am a solo traveler who does not spend much time in a room. My primary concern is cleanliness. Anything more than that is a bonus. I found this motel met my needs very well - clean, computer access, comfortable bed and the usual hotel free breakfast fare. Monterey is small but a car is required to get around no matter if you stay downtown. A cautionary note: 17 Mile Drive is a twisting ride, mostly off the water, thru a neighborhood. It is not worth $9.50 for the priviledge unless Pebble Beach is your desired destination. Pacific Grove should not be missed - it is a lovely, charming little town with beautiful old houses and a fabulous coastal park for jogging, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbgfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

You are so right about Pacific Grove. It definitely is a hidden gem. Also has one of my favorite seafood restaurant in town: Passion Fish. Though I also do like 17 Mile drive!!! I am glad that you enjoyed our facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Rosalie at the front desk and especiallyTeresa, the breakfast server, were terrific! Friendly and so very helpful and competent! The property is older and not as modern as most Comfort Inns in which we stay, but it is second to none in cleanliness and it is unforgettable with its own quaint personality. It is older but fresh paint and lovely flowers make it most hospitable. The room is laid out in such a way that there are mirrors and plug ins available in the bedroom when someone is in the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. Though there are restaurants close by to drive to, we walked to a Vietnamese restaurant next door which was not only great food but extremely reasonably priced. And, the icing on the cake for this Comfort inn was the extremely reasonable price with breakfast included! I want to go back to stay next time we go to Monterey!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Kudos to our Front desk staff, Breakfast attendant and our housekeeping team in having made your stay with us a great experience in Monterey. We look forward to having you come back and see us. Thank you for your appreciation and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3.9 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.9 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monterey

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $91 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing