We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Newer, Clean and Upscale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
lmpoc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Location, Newer, Clean and Upscale”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

You'll like staying here if you can get one of their discounted rooms. They offer plenty of amenities, except you do have to pay for parking ($17 a day) and Internet (broken down by connection speeds -kinda chincy there). I believe the min was $9.95 per day, but that should be free in this day and age.

Rooms were well appointed and the bedding was soft with plenty of pillows. Decor overall was excellent and the value exceptional. It is right on the Wharf - but that's not the greatest attraction there. It is a few mins to Canneray row and the Aquarium.

Room Tip: we had a lower floor and there was NO AC so it was not a problem. I do imagine in the summer months...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    742
    312
    153
    72
See reviews for
693
820
75
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

....also, noisy, extra charges for parking and even the cookies they ply you with when you arrive. The room was clean and the service was good for the most part. For the price, it was worth it. You can't beat the location.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We got a very good deal on the web for a small room and so we didn't overpay. The hotel is in an excellent location for walking around Monterey - it's worth being aware that they charge you for parking though. Despite other reviews I really liked this hotel, perhaps because I mainly stayed in motels on this trip so a hotel made a nice change, but I thought the room was large, had everything we might need, it was very clean, I liked the style and decor, especially the wooden shutters on the windows. We stayed room only so I can't comment on food or services.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Portola for 8 nights during the Pebble Beach Concours. The room was lovely and the staff was most helpful. We loved the location. The PROBLEM is the NOISE... It was impossible to get a full nights sleep due to the noise and we were in the best location in the hotel, right off of the courtyard.
The rooms lack air conditioning and so you have to leave the windows or sliding glass door open.
The gulls begin squawking at 4 or 4:30 AM and party goers stumble in and say good nights at all hours with little regard for others.
The location is great and rooms lovely just don't expect to sleep much, even with ear plugs...

Room Tip: The courtyard is as good as it gets if you need the rest. Great cookies at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Rented a suite and separate room for a family of four. My elderly mother summed it up that the suite in particular, which featured very dim yellow lighting and ugly, old mustard walls and carpeting "resemble the morgues I've been in lately." While I think she meant "funeral homes," you get the drift. The lighting was horrible, furniture dark and heavy, and there are no views. In fact, our grand suite looked out onto a brick wall in the courtyard. Definitely NOT worth the money. The standard rooms are somewhat lighter, but this is a relative term. Think: lighting not good enough for reading. Location was good for our disabled family member, since ramps are abundant and its easy to get to the paved walking path, but the hotel is extremely tired, has terrible heavy-l950's ambiance, and an overpriced restaurant (Jacks) and room service. Front desk staff were chilly at best. If you can get a killer deal ($125/night), you need to use a scooter or wheelchair, and you plan to spend ALL time out of the room, plus you aren't at all impacted by being in tired dark old rooms with horrible lighting---or perhaps you're already blind-- then it might be OK. Never again for us - this was intended to be a cheery weekend, but was made depressing by the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade - standard rooms are as good as anything, which isn't saying much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all feedback of your experieince from the quality of your stay to the staff.

We do hope you will return and give the Portola Hotel & Spa another stay. As a Silver LEED-EB Property we are always aware of the products we have in our rooms and the materials we use when we upgrade choosing green friendly products.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.3 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
0.2 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,203 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#16 of 55 in Monterey
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $254 - $562
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing