We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three generations of "women" 73, 45 and 8 years old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Three generations of "women" 73, 45 and 8 years old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Comfortable room with fluffy feather beds and comforter made for good sleeping. Warm cookies at the front desk charmed our 8 year old. Being a Mid-westerner, I was somewhat overwhelmed by food prices but that is to be expected in CA it would seem. I found this to be a slightly above average city hotel--responsive staff and adequate in every way. I wasn't wowed by the decor but it was pleasant and best of all it was quiet at night. The staff were friendly, fun and helpful. Lots of convention business here added to vitality of the lobby. Forget water views however...maybe someone had one but we didn't. Unable to download photos.

Room Tip: Traveling with children, ask for room close to the pool, which is all kids really care about. we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PastorPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    743
    312
    153
    72
See reviews for
693
821
75
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel completely exceeded our expectations. We found a great deal in travelzoo! We had recently gotten a puppy so the first criteria was that the hotel had to be dog friendly and clean while being dog friendly. This was perfect! When we checked in, we were greeted with warm chocolate chip cookies and our dog was given dog bone biscuits!! Our room was very spacious with a beautiful big patio outside. It was nice to just open the plantation shutters and enjoy the breeze from outside. The bed was by far the best bed I've ever slept in and I've traveled to many different places. The swimming pool was gorgeous!! The location is perfect. You are literally right in front of fishermans wharf. There's also a trail just steps away that leads you straight to cannery row and the monterey bay aquarium. It's about a 1.2 mile walk each way... The breakfast buffet at the hotel was just wonderful!!! We are planning to book another 3 nights in July and around the holidays. Thus would be a great pla e to just unwind and relax! Try it and you will find yourself looking for an excuse to go back again and again! For dog lovers, there is a beautiful and clean big beach in Carmel by downtown that allows dogs to go offleash.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyVacationLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
242 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Not only do they allow dogs, but they can provide beds and bowls for your buddy! There is a patio at the Brew pub where you can share dinner and have a pint. It is also next to dog friendly Fishermans Warf and there are miles of beachfront paths for long walks.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the elevator so walks are easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This may be a perfect hotel. My sister and I did a girl night out. The room was beautiful and quiet, the restaurant excellent, the spa wonderful and reasonably priced treatments. Best of all, it is right onthe walking path at fisherman's wharf...and no car noise outside and a magnificent "back yard."

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ddeebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

So, we got our first experience of the Portola Hotel. The hotel wasn't like "OMG this is beautiful" but more like " Eh, this is nice... and interesting... but I've had better." I had asked for a double Portola room with a view of the beach and a balcony. We were accomidated the room, a balcony, but if we wanted to see anything, besides the back of a night club's brick wall we'd have to stand on the two chairs on the balcony and look over faaaarrr to the right. Anyhow, that was a total bummer. :( The room was comfortable, it's like every other hotel room. The toilet didnt flush well, and we were very limited on hot water from the sink and shower heads. :( So while trying to shower, you'd get luke warm water, and then a gush of cold and then a gush of blazing hot would pour out on top. so strange. On our second night there, my sisters and I were returning to our room from shopping. It was approximately 6 pm and there were ZERO parking spaces in their garage! So I called the front desk and the guy whom had answered stated that we can park down the street, about 3-4 blocks away from the hotel, and we'd just have to walk to the hotel (in the pouring rain). Also, there was going to be a $7.00 charge each time we'd leave the garage, even if it were only going to be for dinner or something. So what ever, we just sat around the garage, and finally, after 30-45 minutes of doing so, a couple left so we took their vacant spot. The girls and I spent an hour or so, soaking in their hot tub and swimming in their pool, in the rain. That was very nice only except, my lips were completely salty. EEWW gross! Upon check out, we found that our TV remote didn 't work, why? I don't know. So I called downstairs and checked out. With the prices here, I think I'd rather fork out a little less to stay at the Best Western... I mean, you'd pay less, get the beach view... heck, you'd be on the beach!!! So, thanks PORTOLA, BUT NO THANK YOU.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beahbay823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.3 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#12 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price range (per night): $249 - $566
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing