We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn By The Bay Monterey
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable budget hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed only one night as part of our trip route 1.Location is great.
Convenient access to major roads and Hwy 1..and easy parking.
The couple running the hotel were friendly and helpfull.
The room we stayed was clean and big.Large windows with a nice view. Beds were comfy but pillows are hard.Crisp white bed linens.Bathroom was very clean and efficent.
Breakfast was very basic.
Recomended

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    146
    66
    14
    13
See reviews for
64
128
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff was friendly and parking was free. Drawbacks: breakfast wasn't great and it would have been nice to be within walking distance of Cannery Row. Overall a nice hotel and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Just needed a quick stop overnight for work, attentive staff, decent facilities, decent stay.

Room Tip: Western exposure rooms do offer the slimmest seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalPeoplesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights during winter break. Rooms were very, very clean and quite spacious.

We had a very comfy king plus twin, with a flat screen tv, microwave, fridge and table with two chairs.

Really well situated - about 15 minutes walk to wharf and downtown. The hot tub was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast (free) was Spartan, coffee, juice, toast and mini Danish, but we supplemented with yogurt from Trader Joe's down the street.

Two complaints: first, it is an older building so a bit noisy and second, my Booking.com rate of $60 per night did not include a $10 surcharge for our 9 year old, even though my search was for two adults plus one kid. Even at $70 the rate would have been fine so I don't know why they felt the need to not be upfront about the surcharge....and I know booking.com usually quotes the rate for the entire party so a bit weird that.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Comfortable motel close to the city of Monterey. The room was fairly large and clean and cheap (under $70 thru hotels.com). The only negative that I can say is that the breakfast is wanting....a piece of wheat bread or a small packaged danish...hmmm....we went to Peet's instead.

Room Tip: There were a couple of rooms with a balcony, but we didn't have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mammak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.1 km away
Munras Inn
Munras Inn
#25 of 56 in Monterey
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 km away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
552 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monterey

Been to Inn By The Bay Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By The Bay Monterey

Property: Inn By The Bay Monterey
Address: 936 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4512 (Formerly El Adobe Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price range (per night): $143 - $436
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn By The Bay Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn By The Bay is in walking distance to downtown Monterey bay where there are restaurants, shops, bars, and the Warf. All rooms have a mini kitchenette which includes a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron. All guests have access to complimentary Wifi.Rooms with a view of the bay are available up early request. Pet friendly rooms are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn By The Bay Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Adobe Hotel Monterey
El Adobe Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing