We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well-meaning, but grim”
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Surf Inn
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean, well-meaning, but grim”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The color scheme is brown brown brown. Two queen beds crowd the room and one is right up against the heater. Window opens if you wish, but it's right next to the bed and outside is the walkway and the cars (the motel is one storey). The lights outside the rooms shine brightly all night so you don't get any feeling for the night and the surrounding trees, etc. The two paintings in the room are identical, adding to the impression that not much thought went into the experience the guest will have. A modest breakfast is included: cereal, toast, Danish, coffee -- no fruit. You must drive to get to the Acquarium and the shops. This place is OK but it is not in any way loveable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    159
    86
    27
    30
See reviews for
81
179
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Clean and spacious, the manager was very kind and the service was awesome!...I liked the fact that is was pretty close to everything, it had internet access, fridge, microwave and breakfast was included!...what else can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stopped here for one night and it was everything we needed. The room was recently refurbished and was clean. Check in was easy and friendly. Room had exactly what you would expect including TV, free wireless internet, shower, bath, fridge etc.nCoffee on tap in the reception area all day. Free breakfast is absolutely fine. Has a couple of choices of cereal, toast and jam, some pastries, juice and coffee. Didn't get in the pool as weather was rainy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeswelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed only one night for business travel. This hotel was very comfortable. It was only 3 miles to the aquarium, quite location, close to the shopping mall, however a stay fee was cheep and included an internet and a breakfast. Front staff was very friendly and kindly. I will stay here in next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallowell, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I made my reservation effortlessly on line five days in advance of my arrival and at the time several rooms were still available. When I checked in, I was given Rm #8 in the corner, which has neither a window nor any kind of in-room temperature control/air conditioner/heater. The window I did not really miss--I didn't get a room here for a view, and during the day I wasn't really in the room--but the heater I did miss, as it got pretty chilly at night. I asked for a different room, but the place was fully booked and no other rooms were available. The room is small and oddly-shaped but perfectly adequate for a solo traveler; it certainly is clean and appears to be recently renovated. It is connected by a locked privacy door to Rm #2-9 and I could hear the conversations of the couple staying there, but they were not loud or obnoxious. The wi-fi in the room works well. The two gentlemen at the front desk were kind and gave me directions to various local places. For $116 including taxes for two weekend nights, it was adequate value for what I needed. Overall, I'd give it a higher rating if the room came with a window, heater/air conditioner, and was a bit larger.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put in Room #8. (I believe it's the only room without a window or AC unit.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.8 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
3.5 km away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#36 of 55 in Monterey
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Surf Inn

Property: Monterey Surf Inn
Address: 1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price range (per night): $110 - $334
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Surf Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Surf Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing