We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made all the difference, between a good and great stay”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We booked the night before by phone from Atascedero, and chose the upgrade for $5 to a room with fire and fireplace (great move). We arrived after the trip from hell, blow out on rental car on Pacific Coast Highway, no cell coverage, and no safe place to change tyre, and the spare being a 2 inch space saver, which didn't enhance the looks or handling of the Mustang, given the driving conditions that day. We booked in very helpful, efficient, but also human and caring. After a trip to the Airport to change the car, we returned to the Hotel, and asked at the Front Desk about where to eat. Vince (Vincent) was fantastic, he enquired what we wanted to eat, knew the area and and gave us his recomendation and directions, and we enjoyed the best Mussels and Scallops I have ever tasted at ""The Sandbar, washed down with a delightful Chardonnay. The next day we visited The Aquarium, booking our tickets through the front desk, Michelle was very helpful, even though she was balancing two phonecalls at the time. That evening we eat at the Monterey Fish House, again great food, Vince again was very helpful, booking the table, and wanted our feedback, so that he could help future visitors. The room was relaxing, very comfortable, and very reasonablly priced given its location. Wish we could have stayed longer, in this Hotel and this City, as both were a delight to stay in. We cant wait until 2012 to go back and hopefully stay longer.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Mustanglover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

Pluses: Location is nice. Long walk to the aquarium, shorter walk to the wharf. Beach across the street, with the mini-mart/gas station in between. Yes, you can hear the seals at night, which is nice. Affordable.

Minuses: Beds were completely broken down. Mattresses slanted on one side. Carpet filthy and room very musty. Smokers on walkway outside the door allowed smoke to drift into the room. No view. Dark rooms. Overpriced coffee shop on premises.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I was very impressed by the Monterey Bay Lodge. I wasn’t expecting much at this price: $150 for a King Fireplace, but what I got was a very spacious room, flat screen TV, free wifi, sliding doors out onto the lawn facing the pool. I was sorry to stay here only one night. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of counter space for all my stuff. Also appreciated the free bottles of water. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I also bought tickets for the Aquarium here because for the price of 1 day, you can get in for 2 days and use the special VIP entrance and beat the lines.

The soundproofing must also be very good because when we got in after dinner, we could hear a baby crying as we left our car, but once inside the room, we heard nothing! We also got $2 off coupons for the adjoining restaurant. We used it for breakfast and it was pretty decent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was our second choice hotel in Monterey, but after the first told us that we would have to change rooms for the second night in order to get their best rate, we called the Monterey Bay Lodge. It is not super fancy, but it is clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The best thing is that it is walking distance to the municipal wharf, the ocean, a park and the trail that runs by the ocean. They provided us with a portable crib for our baby as well. It was too cold for the pool, so I can't really comment on that. Free wifi was a bonus, especially for planning our days' adventures. Overall it was a great deal, especially for the price! We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Monterey Bay Lodge over Labor Day weekend and were very impressed. We like to stay in clean, quiet hotels that are comfortable but not luxurious - we're pretty casual people. The room we stayed in had a very comfortable king bed and a great fireplace with a patio that opened up onto the courtyard with a pool and hot tub. The room was spotless as were the grounds, and there were nice extra touches like quality toiletries, a small refrigerator with two free bottles of water in it and a microwave. The food at the attached restaurant was good (we only ate there for breakfast) and priced well, especially with the $2 off coupons we were given at check-in. The location of the hotel was also great - it's across the street from a beautiful park, and one block from the ocean and a nice bike path. It's only about two minutes by car to Fisherman's Wharf and about five minutes from Cannery Row. I can't recomend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
2.2 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.8 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
1.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $104 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing