We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Stevenson Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
USD 133*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
USD 183*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Spindrift Inn(Monterey)
USD 407*
USD 257*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 212*
USD 200*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
USD 236*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 269*
USD 219*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
El Castell Motel(Monterey)(Great Value!)
USD 89*
USD 87*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea(Monterey)(Great Value!)
USD 206*
USD 90*
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
USD 227*
USD 202*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Monterey Bay Inn(Monterey)
USD 255*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
191
241
95
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
241
95
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadjoining restaurantdennis the menace parkcannery rowfisherman's wharfhot tubminute walkon site restaurantcoffee makernice place to staywithin easy walking distancemonterey baywhale watchingfridge and microwaveroom was clean and comfortableaquarium ticketsking bedroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I was very impressed by the Monterey Bay Lodge. I wasn’t expecting much at this price: $150 for a King Fireplace, but what I got was a very spacious room, flat screen TV, free wifi, sliding doors out onto the lawn facing the pool. I was sorry to stay here only one night. Everything was very clean and there was plenty of counter space for all my stuff. Also appreciated the free bottles of water. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I also bought tickets for the Aquarium here because for the price of 1 day, you can get in for 2 days and use the special VIP entrance and beat the lines.

The soundproofing must also be very good because when we got in after dinner, we could hear a baby crying as we left our car, but once inside the room, we heard nothing! We also got $2 off coupons for the adjoining restaurant. We used it for breakfast and it was pretty decent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This was our second choice hotel in Monterey, but after the first told us that we would have to change rooms for the second night in order to get their best rate, we called the Monterey Bay Lodge. It is not super fancy, but it is clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. The best thing is that it is walking distance to the municipal wharf, the ocean, a park and the trail that runs by the ocean. They provided us with a portable crib for our baby as well. It was too cold for the pool, so I can't really comment on that. Free wifi was a bonus, especially for planning our days' adventures. Overall it was a great deal, especially for the price! We'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Monterey Bay Lodge over Labor Day weekend and were very impressed. We like to stay in clean, quiet hotels that are comfortable but not luxurious - we're pretty casual people. The room we stayed in had a very comfortable king bed and a great fireplace with a patio that opened up onto the courtyard with a pool and hot tub. The room was spotless as were the grounds, and there were nice extra touches like quality toiletries, a small refrigerator with two free bottles of water in it and a microwave. The food at the attached restaurant was good (we only ate there for breakfast) and priced well, especially with the $2 off coupons we were given at check-in. The location of the hotel was also great - it's across the street from a beautiful park, and one block from the ocean and a nice bike path. It's only about two minutes by car to Fisherman's Wharf and about five minutes from Cannery Row. I can't recomend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Staying with 2 adult sons, we booked interconnecting rooms which worked well for us. Very comfortable room, quiet and well looked after. Excellent breakfasts at the attached diner . Lovely pool and hot tub - so clean and surrounded by beautiful gardens. Really close to beach and ocean. Handy for all of Monterey's attractions which helpful staff had great knowledge of.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time0f0urlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Initially we picked this motel for the pool and location next to Dennis the Menace Park. We were disappointed in the room as it was cramped and the bath shower stall was so inadequate for bathing kids under the age of 5. Each of our children had to be held up so that we could rinse them under the stationary shower head. Luckily we only stayed for two nights, but our backs paid for it from the painful bath time circus and the uncomfortable beds. Decent price for Monterey and close to sights, but really wished they had told us no bathtubs. We probably would have gone with another lodging. If you have older kids, this place will be adequate for you for a short visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCfabfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonDesaiMBL, Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Dear Guest,
I am so sorry that you didn't have a pleasant experience at Monterey Bay Lodge because your room didn't have a bath tub, but I am glad that you enjoyed our location being across from the Del Monte Beach & Dennis the Menace Park.

More than half of our rooms do feature Bath Tubs and if there is a request made at time of booking, than we would gladly accommodate guests in a room with Tub.

I hope that you visit Monterey again and decide to give us a chance to extend our hospitality to your family and enjoy our property in the same manner as thousands of our valued guests have enjoyed for years.

I sincerely apologize and thank you for staying with us.
Don Desai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews