We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun ”

Monterey Bay Aquarium
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the ocean.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We spent the first of two days here and enjoyed it very much. We decided since we have two days to see the first floor today and the second floor tomorrow. The exhibits are informative and beautiful. If you wait until afternoon most of the families with small children have left and it's not so crowded and chaotic.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 451Disneyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontereyBayAquarium, Manager at Monterey Bay Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fish"
in 1,462 reviews
"octopus"
in 292 reviews
"sea otters"
in 1,039 reviews
"feeding times"
in 187 reviews
"kelp forest"
in 436 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 191 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 229 reviews
"all ages"
in 584 reviews
"open sea"
in 206 reviews
"world class"
in 134 reviews
"sardines"
in 320 reviews
"great for kids"
in 126 reviews
"marine life"
in 309 reviews
"monterey bay"
in 425 reviews
"cannery row"
in 384 reviews
"aquarium"
in 6,432 reviews
"tanks"
in 776 reviews
Filter

791 - 795 of 13,135 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Not terrible but not great either. We had a two day pass which was beneficial. In my opinion the cost of admission to attraction ratio was too far off. It is super crowded in that place. Just chaos. You are at the will of people being respectful and courteous to see the exhibits. Between all the people with cameras and the droves of strollers I did enjoy what I did get to see. I know the cost of admission goes towards research and development but dang!!!!! 200 bucks for a family of 4 is a little much for what you get. We went in the morning the first day which was a nightmare. Went back the second day in the late afternoon which was more tolerable. It seems there could be a system of some kind to allow people to see everything in a orderly fashion. All just my opinion. Some folks might enjoy the anarchy.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank BillyRo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

So busy. Throngs of people on weekends. Urban assault strollers everywhere - especially near touch pools and kids interactive areas. Expect not to see lots of smaller tanks for the sheer number of people and darkened lighting that slows traffic down. Lots of live fish... just as many computer interactive and video displays of fish and sea life habitats. No cetaceans. $50 USD per person for entry is steep; no AAA discounts. Parking is a few blocks away in a large multilevel parade at $15/day. Cannery Row is a two sided, two storey tourist trap, with multiple candy stores, typical souvenir shops and eateries galore. Would not recommend the Aquarium visit for the mobility challenged persons.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Two-BC-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Considering this is meant to be the second best aquarium in the US we were quite disappointed as it was very busy and not an awful lot of displays. Some of the tanks were huge and pretty impressive but it was all quite padded out and expense to visit and even more expensive to eat and drink in the restaurant. Considering the cost we were not entertained for more than an hour and would never return. I have been to some far better aquariums in Australia and the UK.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MrBlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Stunning aquarium and well worth a visit, just the $50 entrance fee seems ridiculously steep and unnecessary.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mattrileyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing